Getting reads on players

M

marlonksmith

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys,

This is my first post on a poker forum so my appolagies if I come across as a complete newb! (Because I am) lol

Anyway I’m hoping to dive into the cash games micro stakes next week, I’ve been doing some research and read a few books as well as playing some online games with free chips.

However my question is, how would you guys suggest to get good reads on a player without a HUD, I’ve read about the different types of players and it seems nits and donkeys are easiest to get the read but how do you distinqest the rest.

Any help would be massively appreciated

Many thanks:D

eniseysmail

eniseysmail

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Something seems to me that in online games it will be difficult to do, namely to study the players. Here a person can have one style of play, in 10 minutes it will change dramatically.

N

neptun1914

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
If you do not use a HUD to automatically collect statistics for you you should do it manually. Best is to monitor what players do and take notes in the poker client which you can use in future if you meet them on the tables.

Havik

Havik

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You can get good reads on irregular bet timings and what cards you have seen the player show in past hands. You just need to pay more attention without a hud.

MattRyder

MattRyder

🍏 Tech That Works!
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
If you do not use a HUD to automatically collect statistics for you you should do it manually. Best is to monitor what players do and take notes in the poker client which you can use in future if you meet them on the tables.

You can get good reads on irregular bet timings and what cards you have seen the player show in past hands. You just need to pay more attention without a hud.