Do you consider knockout poker good for practice?

lethycia10

lethycia10

Rising Star
Total posts
I have just started playing online poker (on PS) and I was wondering if knockout games are a good idea for a begginer.
Do you play knockout tournaments or multi table knockout sit and go's often?

Evan Jarvis

Evan Jarvis

Legend
Total posts
Awards
I have just started playing online poker (on PS) and I was wondering if knockout games are a good idea for a begginer.
Do you play knockout tournaments or multi table knockout sit and go's often?

Knockouts are a very fun format of poker, but the math required to play them well is more advanced than normal tournaments

As a beginner I wouldn't recommend them because it's calculating the right odds to gamble based on the size of the bounty, and how many chips relative to starting stack you are risking to get it, just adds another variable and layer of complexity to the calculations.

PKOs may appear as lower variance because you win some of your money back some of the time even if you don't cash the tournament, but the reality is that because these bounty monies encourage people to gamble more and take more all ins, PKOs are actually a higher variance form of poker than normal MTTs.

For a beginner I think the best types of MTTs are small field tournaments with a good blind structure (8,10,12 mins) and short late registration (1-2 hours max). These formats will give you great practice and not take too much time to play.

That's also with sit n gos, be them 9 man, 27 man, 45 man, 90 man or 180 man are great places to get your feet wet and starting enjoying tournament poker!

L

Lolocomondo

Enthusiast
Total posts
Νο, i don't like knockout's for practice because the players there are usually more offensive and if you tend to play cash game it doesn't really help you to improve.

R

ROYALROAD

Visionary
Total posts
Awards
I think the degree which becomes practice is same as ordinary MTT.

Freeman748

Freeman748

Rock Star