Books or instructional videos?

sincos

sincos

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello! What helped you more in learning poker - books or instructional videos?

Misaki

Misaki

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
hi,

for sure the videos but books can help you to understand all concepts way better. It depends from person. I just enjoy watching the videos more. But I dont watch videos and forget about all concepts. I just make the notes. Its always better to watch 1hour video with making the notes than watching 10 hours ov videos just to watch and forget what you were watching. About the books you need to know that old books are mostly outtdated. So I would be more focus on new books like Modern Poker Theory or Play Optimal Poker.

BetterThanAvgButNotByMuch

BetterThanAvgButNotByMuch

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
When I started playing, books were the way to go. Its alot different now with Youtube and these pay sites with videos.

If you commute a lot and could afford to go the audio book or video route then that might be the way to go. It also really depends on your skill level. Years ago the 2+2 Advanced books were the only way to study poker variations. Things are different today.

Thinking about it now, lol. I would go with books for poker variations because few sites give folks info on those games or I should say detailed material and would go with books there. But for holdem, there are plenty of video sources out there for that.

O

odonob

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Videos are good, especially with good commentary. Books have their place for in depth strategy.

sincos

sincos

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
When I read books and watch videos, I also mark tricks that I then implement into my game.

M

Mr_Nuisance

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips