Advice on reaching final table

T

TeeJayCarter

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone,
Just looking for a bit of advice or guidance.
I have some moderate experience playing no limit hold em and focus mainly on tournaments but no matter what I do, I can't seem to reach final table. Any tips???
Best finish was 23rd with a field of about 5000 on 888 poker.
Thanks

FF2586

FF2586

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
DZ
Chips
Hello

My advice is to go for it. Switch gears when you get to the last 27 or 18 and get the aggro out of you.
You can get back to reasonable play once you get to the final table.
3bet shove, steal blinds very often...

gl gl gl

T

TeeJayCarter

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Thanks for the advice, I kinda know that's what I need to do I just struggle to pull the trigger . Can't seem to get the timings right, it seems every time I pull the trigger they've got the goods.
Maybe it's just more experience needed on my part

Evan Jarvis

Evan Jarvis

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello everyone,
Just looking for a bit of advice or guidance.
I have some moderate experience playing no limit hold em and focus mainly on tournaments but no matter what I do, I can't seem to reach final table. Any tips???
Best finish was 23rd with a field of about 5000 on 888 poker.
Thanks

Hey Teejay,

the first thing to realize is that in these huge field tournaments the odds are very low of making the final table. One easy adjustment is to start playing smaller field tournaments (100 players and under) and then you can make the final a lot more.

You do have to go for it more when the play is shorthanded, but to be comfortable with this takes a lot of practice (that's why playing 18, 27, 45, 90, 180 man tournaments is great).

This playlist will give you a ton of strategy https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLBrNnyWekagPbegY51h0xW4tHOFKKn_DU