Is this acting out of turn?

V

V8Maverick

Rising Star
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Total posts
2
I was playing in a heads-up NL over the weekend, just friendly with a mate and had the following situation come up. Can I get someone's take on this please?

Small but generally committed pot has grown from both players through to the flop. This is where we join it.

TURN CARD COMES DOWN.

Villain (UTG): Pauses briefly to assess the board then announces RAISE.
Hero: Immediately cuts off the end of Villians word with "ALL IN!!"

At the point Villain announced RAISE, he had no chips in hand (though was about to head that way) and was not given the chance to announce the amount of the raise, as Hero cut them off before they could say how much. No chips have passed the line.

Has Hero acted out of turn? Villain never said how much they were going to raise, nor have they committed any chips to the pot, but Hero expects to earn off of the hand despite the fact that nobody has any idea if Villain was raising minimum, medium or huge.

What's your take? How would you deal with this situation?
 
puzzlefish

puzzlefish

Zero fold equity always
Loyaler
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Total posts
2,831
Awards
1
CA
I'd think villain gets to decide if he calls or not. If he folds, he gets to pay for a min-raise thanks to the hero.
 
V

V8Maverick

Rising Star
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Total posts
2
Potentially a lucky get out for Villain if he was about to bluff a 20 raise then gets to fold for 2.
 
Top