Starting up a Bankroll & Understanding how to increase it

T

TylerJobsonCW

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

I've got a couple of questions for the community, and I wonder if anyone could help me out.

I've been playing poker for a couple of years and have recently got started getting into the real money side of the game. Currently I play £0.02/£0.05 games online with £10 every now again. But I would like to start building a bankroll and I was wondering if anyone can give me tips & tricks for managing a micro stakes bankroll.

Currently, my financial situation will allow me to put £50 in as a start up deposit, due to me having other responsibilities & a full time job. I currently play about approx 15 hours of NLEM a week.

What stake should I play with a £50 bankroll? Is it best to stick to cash to see a quick increase if you play +ev? How long will it take me to get out of the Micro Stakes game.

I also see myself getting tilted often when my stack goes down to 10-20bb and just shoving all in. What's the best way to manage tilt online?

These may seem like stupid questions, but it would be great to get pointed in the right directions.

Cheers,
Tyler
:)

P

ph_il

Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
If you can only deposit $50, start with 2nl as you'll have 25 buy-ins. If you want to start larger, say the 5nl games, save up until you can deposit more. I think 30 BIs is a good start, so you'll need $150. However, it doesn't hurt to start with more BIs.

If you're looking to make a one-and-done deposit, definitely wait so you can deposit more and start with at least 50 BIs.

Try and get rakeback if you don't have it already.

Turn on auto top off at the tables so you never dip below 100 BBs.

There is no way to say when you will move out of the micros. If you're only playing 15 hours a week, that's only 2.25 hours/day. That's not a lot. In this case, multi-tabling would definitely help, if you're comfortable with it.

P

Pablo22

Legend