re: Poker & Another All in Question
Originally Posted by paulyrock888
hi, another question from a beginner,
example - I am down to 1000 chips and call all in - there 4 are players left - all of them have triple my chips -
in most circumstances would all players just call all or would someone re-raise - ie - the next player to act goes all in with 2200 chips - will this be to get the remaining 2 players to fold even more with a higher bet because they are confident there hand beats all - is this in the rules? and would this be correct strategy in this situation?
again all replies and advice most welcome
I'm assuming this is a tournament of some sort? They are likely trying to keep the other players out of the hand when they do that and keep the pot heads up. Hand strength is stronger when playing against a single player, but against multiple players it is significantly less so (since the probability of someone improving their hand is greater). It is perfectly within the rules of No-Limit holdem to do that and is almost always the correct action if they choose to play against your all in.
There are rare occasions where it may be better for them to just call your all in and let the others call as well. Such as if you have a very small stack compared to theirs and you're on the money bubble. They may just call hoping the others do as well so there is a greater chance one of them beats your hand and eliminates you. However situations like that aren't all that common.