Originally Posted by OzExorcist
In most card rooms yes, the last aggressor (your opponent in this case) is required to show first.
As mentioned above, a gentle reminder is usually enough. Or you can be the bigger man and just turn your hand over if it's obvious that your opponent was caught bluffing - you're going to have to show your hand regardless.
That's sometimes what gets other players irritated, and it's possibly what happened in this case: if it's obvious that you've won then, even though technically
the other player has to roll their hand over first, to an extent it's actually you that's holding up the game.
That's not technically correct - according to Robert's Rules Section 3 - General Poker Rules - The Showdown (http://www.homepokertourney.com/roberts-rules-of-poker.htm#THE_SHOWDOWN):
1. To win any part of a pot, a player must show all of his cards faceup on the table, whether they were used in the final hand played or not.
Even if the other player mucks, you're required to show your cards to win the pot if the hand goes to showdown. Some places may let you get away with not showing them, but technically you're supposed to before being awarded the pot.
Some house rules hand must be shown but TDA rules do not. The WPT has had this for a while The WSOP
I believe allowing this now. I know Jack Effel has always said player must show to win pot, but Matt Savage has said otherwise, if a player mucks the last person with a live hand wins the pot without having to show. Now this does not apply if you declare a hand but not turn over and your opponent mucks.
Here is TDA rule for not having to show cards if opponent mucks:
Matt Savage @SavagePoker 12m
RT @Grossberger23: What TDA rule says if player mucks last player does not have to show?<~#18
18: Asking to See a Hand
Players not still in possession of their cards at showdown, or who have mucked face down
without tabling their cards, lose any rights or privileges they may have to ask to see any hand.
Heres the TDA rules for showdown:
16: Showdown Order
In a non all-in showdown, if cards are not spontaneously tabled, the TD may enforce an order
of show. The last aggressive player on the final betting round (final street) must table first. If
there was no bet on the final street, then the player who would be first to act in a betting round
must table first (i.e. first seat left of the button in flop games, high hand showing in stud, low
hand showing in razz, etc.). Except where house policy requires a hand to be tabled during the
order of show, a player may elect to muck his hand face down.
I encourage everyone playing live poker to follow @savagepoker (Matt Savage) on twitter and if you have a question about a rule he answers them. I will tell you the most common question he gets is the single chip call.
Cleveland horseshoe I will tell you does not make player show their cards if opponent mucks first.