Nominations Now Open for 2023 Poker Hall of Fame

3 min read

Nominations for the 2023 Poker Hall of Fame are now open. The public can recommend players who qualify through a form on the WSOP’s website.

Layne Flack Poker Hall of Fame
Layne Flack, 2022 Poker Hall of Fame inductee.(Image: WSOP)

Then, each of the 33 living members of the Hall of Fame will be invited to assign 10 votes to the top-10 nominees. The person with the most votes gets in, that simple. 

Hall of Fame voters are instructed to weigh these values:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • For non-players, nominees must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Until 2020, the Hall of Fame regularly inducted two individuals per year. In a controversial move, Hall officials cut that number in half because, as WSOP executive director Ty Stewart explained, officials want to make the honor “more of a lifetime achievement award for that rare player who is not just a success, but a legend.”

The one-per-year policy has created a bottleneck with many talented people stuck in line who deserve the recognition and came close in past votes. Just take a look at last year’s nominees:

  • Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier
  • Brian Rast
  • Isai Scheinberg
  • Josh Arieh
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Lon McEachern & Norman Chad
  • Matt Savage
  • Michael Mizrachi
  • Mike Matusow

The Hall of Fame was part of Binion’s Horseshoe until Ceasars acquired the WSOP brand in 2004. It’s supposed to be relocated to the poker room at the newly rebranded Horseshoe Las Vegas, but it hasn’t happened yet. They’re going to need plenty of wall space, because there are many members.

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Puggy Pearson 1987
Doyle Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Amarillo Slim 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny  Chan 2002
Bobby Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015
Carlos Mortensen 2016
Todd Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivey 2017
John Hennigan 2018
Mori Eskandani 2018
Chris Moneymaker 2019
David Oppenheim 2019
Huck Seed 2020
Eli Elezra 2021
Layne Flack 2022
??????????? 2023

Tips, corrections, comments or kudos? Please contact us.

Related Posts

Did you know about our poker forum? Discuss all the latest poker news in the CardsChat forum

Popular Stories