newbie here: low vs high(er) stakes?

T

TheMoney69

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
i've just started playing poker online for about a week now (i've played it before, but casually) and people keep telling me that games like $20 SnG are easier to play than $1 SnG. just want to know if there's any truth to that.

anyway i have kept some statistics of my games, and here are some:

$1 super turbo SnG:

wins: 37
losses: 41

$5 turbo SnG:

wins: 7
losses: 1

clearly my sample size for the $5 is way too low, but how true is the above? also, how do these statistics compare with other new players?

OzExorcist

OzExorcist

Broomcorn's uncle
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
People have been telling you lies - $1 SnGs are a bazillion times softer than the $20 games. Literally a bazillion.

T

TheMoney69

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
People have been telling you lies - $1 SnGs are a bazillion times softer than the $20 games. Literally a bazillion.

thanks for your reply. do you have any comments about super turbo vs regular SnG?

R

RamdeeBen

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Interesting.

Well, from my POV I don't think there is much of a difference between $1-$5 but never ventured enough in to $20.00 SnG's to say but I'm guessing $20.00 are a lot more difficult.

People have an understanding, quite a good one these days of EV. I wouldn't fancy experemting though, unless you have the money too. Try grind your way up, time will tell. If you can afford $5.00, play these - they are just as fishy as $1.00 in my eyes, as recreational players do play $1/$5 maybe even $10 recreational as more of a thrill than $1.00 for example.

I'd even go as high to say some will play up to $20.00 recreational, as I had done in the past (not big sample size at all) and I can't even remember how good/bad they was, I know I was much worse player though back then.