Pre-flop lottery?

R

Ray

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I just started playing poker about 2 months ago, and of course still have loads to learn about the game. Thus i have been reading alot on poker strategies online, but i find it very hard to apply at the micro stakes i play.

Example: I joined a 2$ turbo nl tourney yesterday. On the very 1st hand there were 3 all-in's pre-flop so i decided to keep track of the all-ins. In the 29 hands i survived there were 24 all-ins and 18 of those were pre-flop all-ins at that. With that kind of all-in% i dont see how you can apply any strategi because you have to expect to be raised all in no matter what you do.

Also i dont get the pre-flop all-in raise, unless you are short stacked and the blinds are starting to hurt you, but perhaps thats just me. My thinking is, why try to double your stack with a pre-flop all in with pocket aa early in a tourny. You risk going out right here and then just to double your stack wich is nice but dont mean alot at this stage in the tourny.

Yesterday i was thinking that with all those all-ins we might aswell have flipped a coin to see who was the winner, but perhaps have just caught the tables with that kinda play going on.

Am i all wrong in thinking that kinda play is mainly a coin toss?

The frustrated

D

DuaneK

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
$2 tourneys are like that. I stay out of allin's early in the game. After the crazy ones are out it settles down.

PokerVic

PokerVic

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I try to avoid making any moves until the first 2 blind levels are over. By then, the maniacs are either out, or have settled down a bit.