GPI Awards: Making Ali Imsirovic’s ‘Wildest Dreams’ Come True

2 min read

The Global Poker Index Awards took place at the Aria last night, celebrating poker and the people who make it one of the world’s best games.

Ali Imsirovic
Ali Imsirovic accepts his 2021 GPI Player of the Year Award. (Image: PokerGo)

The 2021 GPI Player of the Year Ali Imsirovic was the big winner, taking home three awards, but many deserving players, poker personalities, and industry members got their due for the work they put in last year. 

“Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think this was possible,” Imsirovic said in his acceptance speech. “To win the title of Player of the Year from one of the most prestigious live ranking systems that we have in the industry, it feels surreal. I couldn’t even describe the shock and disbelief my 18 year-old self would have.” 

The full broadcast can be found here. 

And the winners: 

  • GPI Poker Player of the Year — Ali Imsirovic
  • PokerGO Tour Player of the Year — Ali Imsirovic
  • GPI Female Player of the Year — Nadya Magnus
  • GPI Mid-Major Player of the Year — David Mzareulov
  • Best Tournament Director — Paul Campbell
  • Charitable Initiate Award — Veronica Brill
  • Best Final Table Performance — Adam Friedman
  • Twitter Personality — Jamie Kerstetter
  • Best Media Content: Photo — Enrique Malfavon
  • Fans Choice: Best Trophy — Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup
  • Services to Poker — Kevin Mathers
  • Best Live Reporter — Christian Zetzsche
  • Best Media Content: Written — Lance Bradley
  • Best Vlogger — Brad Owen
  • Best Event — WSOP Main Event
  • GPI Award of Merit — Maria Konnikova
  • GPI Breakout Player — Johan Guilbert
  • Fan’s Choice: Best Hand — Doug Polk’s fold against Phil Helmuth on High Stakes Poker
  • Best Podcast — James Hartigan and Joseph Stapleton, “Poker in the Ears”
  • Best Industry Person — Matt Savage
  • Players Choice for Toughest Opponent — Ali Imsirovic
  • Best Media Content: Video — Remko Rinkema
  • Fan’s Choice: Poker Personality — Masato Yokosawa
  • Best Streamer — Ben Spragg
  • Best Broadcaster — Jeff Platt

Many of the winners celebrated the night with their fans through Twitter.

Here’s Veronica Brill and Jamie Kerstetter:

Winner Joe Stapleton had a blast and gave credit to the hosts:

Fantastic writer Lance Bradley:

And Matt Savage popped on Twitter to give props to the WSOP’s Jack Effel:


Related Posts

Did you know about our poker forum? Discuss all the latest poker news in the CardsChat forum

Popular Stories