Turbo SNGs vs Regular and general advice wanted

R

Rabidus

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey guys, I'm looking for a bit of advice..hope you can help me out!

I started playing Sit N Go's online in December after playing nothing but a few games of low limit over the past couple of years.

After some immediate success at the $20 tables, it tailed off and I've since been playing a mix of $10 and $20 tables. (I know..bankroll management alert).

I hadn't really been taking it seriously but am just starting to now. I bought my first book (HoH) and have been reading a lot lately online. Mixing what I've learned in the book and on the forums with what I've learned playing over the past 8 weeks has really helped me better understand the game.

Almost all of the SNGs I've played so far have been speed or turbo games.

I've played 44 $20 games with the following results:

• First 11.36%
  • Second 11.36%
  • Third 4.55%
A net loss of $88

I've played 60 $10 games with the following results:

• First 10%
  • Second 11.67%
  • Third 13.33%
A net gain of $10

I've played the vast majority of these games very intoxicated. My job leads to a lot of late night meetings and drinks and I've been playing when I get home and I know it's affected my judgement severely on occasion.

I have no aspirations of being a great player (although that would be nice) but enjoy playing NL and would be happy to be a break even or profitable player. I feel I'm not too far off if I buckle down and start taking the game seriously.

Here is my current plan..please let me know if you have any advice or if I'm doing something wrong. I want to learn!
  • Play only $10 SNGs and the odd low entry MTT. I've tried a few lower level SNGs ($3 and $6) but prefer the play at $10 or higher.
  • Top my current bankroll up to $200 (currently a bit over a hundred. so far, I haven't been managing a bankroll at all but just adding a few bucks here and there).