Do you feel like you're getting better or worse at poker as time passes?

radartodd69

radartodd69

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, I've been playing poker for around 15 years and have had some scattered success along the way as I'm sure you all have. I am noticing that the amount of times I win a tournament in say during a month or years time has been steadily declining during my 15 years. This really does a number on my head. I say to my self I'm practicing more and more but getting worse and worse results. So from strictly a results based analysis, I was better at poker when I started than I am now after having a lot of practice. Tell me what you think. Does any of this make sense in your poker adventure?

S

SharkyShark1

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It all depends on the day if I feel better or worse. Sometimes I'm playing really well and all my plays go right, other days its like I can't play poker and I'm a complete donk.
Regarding your 15 years and the declining winnings, everybody now has access to youtube videos, theory and everybody studies the game. 15 years ago the field was a lot softer.

A

alien666dj

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
From the moment I began to parse hands and analyze the game, I have grown as a player.

SopianaeExtra

SopianaeExtra

between my 2 ears
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
DE
Chips
I'm DEFINITELY better than a few years ago, which I ascribe to my growth as a person. But it seems I might plateau any time soon, judging from my table results. If players could endlessly improve themselves, then ... you wouldn't even notice a damn difference from today's playing field, as everyone would be a master to a certain degree by now, and an advanced master would still be able to trump a lesser one.

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips