Brand new, why do pros seem inconsistent?

M

minipoker4

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm brand new to poker!
Why do pros seem so inconsistent in their winnings? For example, a pro could be #1 or #2 in one tournament and then they will be #50/300 or #200/1000 etc in their next tournament. Is this just because of the hands they are dealt on the day? Do they focus more/play differently at bigger events? Is poker just about doing your best each tourney and eventually, if you're good enough, you'll win big? I'm just really curious as to how someone who is able to be #1 can be #300th in their next tourney.

Propane Goat

Propane Goat

Grinder and paint make me the welder I ain't
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Unlike chess, luck does play a part in winning tournaments and even the worst possible starting hand still has a chance to win the pot. The luck part is having your hands hold up when you're ahead, the skill part is being able to consistently identify situations when you're favored to win the pot and taking advantage of them.

We can't conclude anything about a player's skill just by looking at the results of one or two tournaments. It's possible for a player who knows nearly nothing about the game to go on a massive heater and actually win a large-field tournament over more seasoned players. However, they will not be able to repeat this consistently over the long run.

Sometimes situations like this one also occur and it's just 100% bad luck for the losing player. This tournament also had a $1,000,000 buy-in.

shinmenkami

shinmenkami

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
If a pro participate in 10 tourneys in one season and get itm in 2, maybe winning 1 he will already be on the positive

rock0001

rock0001

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips