Best tournaments for a new player

G

giosach

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all!

First post here, and I just wanted to say how lucky I feel that I have found this site, been very helpful for a newbie like me.

So to the point. I'm a new poker player, been playing for about 3 months now. At first I was playing at bwin poker due to the fact that I also have an account for sports betting there. Although software is good, the level of players was pretty low, so I created a pokerstars account. Did much better there, cashed a few times and even final tabled one tourney, but very often I find my self surrounded by people in the table who literally dont know what they're doing, but somehow win. Is there any kind of tournaments where these players can be avoided? As a newbie I've experimented with tournaments, cash games and so on, but I like normal tournaments the most ( KOs not that much ) and some SNGs and Grand Tours every now and then. Any specific tournement recommendations would be pretty helpful. Please note that for now my BR is pretty small, looking to add some to it soon.

Thanks in advance!

RimworldDoctor

RimworldDoctor

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I find my self surrounded by people in the table who literally dont know what they're doing, but somehow win.

You're going to have regs and fish at every stakes, so there's no way of avoiding subpar play. That said, the sentence above makes me think you might not be giving enough credit to your villains. If they're winning consistently, despite "not knowing what they're doing" then you might be missing something.

I used to despise flop chasers until I realized that they have pot equity post-flop on anything up to a pot-sized bet. Then all the fishing made more sense. I started overbetting the pot post-flop if I didn't want them to continue.

There are still going to be fish who call anyway, but I know that they'll lose more money than I win doing that in the long-run. :icon_joke