My bankroll leak: too spewy with the re-entries

P

ph_il

Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
i was looking at my recent sharkscope results and noticed a pretty big bankroll leak: i re-enter way too much in mtts. in the last 100 mtts played, i had 78 re-entries. only focusing on my last 100 mtts as that's when i started playing online poker again. now, this is a bit of a double-edged sword, (i think that's the right analogy). on one hand, without re-entries, i wouldn't have made some of my deep runs, final tables, mtt wins, and wouldn't have profited as much as i did. on the other hand, did the profit make up for all of my re-entries? i guess, in a way, yes because i still profited, but how much did i give up in the process?

....wait, am i litterally saying to myself "i profited, but how much did i lose?" i guess so, but i'll roll with it.

in 100 mtts, i had an average buy-in of $1.35 and an itm finish of 30%. so, out of 78 re-entries, i cashed in ~24/78. with the remaining 58 re-entries, i paid (lost) a total of $72.90 which is a pretty significant amount. to put this into better perspective, my best mtt cash was ~$65. so i basically netted $8 in profit for that final table run. call me crazy, but an $8 profit in 58 buy-ins doesn't seem worth it.

now, is this bad? i guess it depends on your goals. like i said, i wouldn't have made some of my final table runs without re-entries. would my roi% have been the same had i not re-entered so much and saved $73 worth of re-entries, i don't know. it's hard to tell. but spewing away $73 in extra buy-ins is quite a lot, even if made an $8 profit in the end. i still profited overall, but i'm wondering if bankroll preservation is just as important. i could've easily gone on a bad run and lost a ton of money on top of the $73 in re-entries. and, in that case, i would rather not have spent those 58 extra buy-ins.