Losing to Pocket Aces



May 20, 2005
Total posts
I lost to Pocket Aces on this hand yet I didn't see it coming. When do you think I should have seen warning signs?

pokerstars Game #5282054606: Tournament #26611668, $1.00+$0.20 Hold'em No Limit - Level II (15/30) - 2006/06/17 - 16:20:30 (ET)
Table '26611668 5' 9-max Seat #6 is the button
Seat 1: sktch420qn (1260 in chips)
Seat 2: DDaniels22 (1230 in chips)
Seat 3: sorrow16 (1700 in chips)
Seat 4: sethster23 (1190 in chips)
Seat 6: k no 1 putts (1430 in chips)
Seat 7: Spider2306 (2220 in chips)
Seat 8: Austin Rules (1410 in chips)
Seat 9: t1riel (1700 in chips)
Spider2306: posts small blind 15
Austin Rules: posts big blind 30
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to t1riel [Qh Kd]
t1riel: raises 30 to 60
sktch420qn: calls 60
DDaniels22: folds
sorrow16: folds
sethster23: folds
Austin Rules is connected
k no 1 putts: calls 60
Spider2306: calls 45
Austin Rules: folds
*** FLOP *** [5d 3s Ks]
Spider2306: checks
t1riel: bets 180
sktch420qn: calls 180
k no 1 putts: calls 180
Spider2306: calls 180
*** TURN *** [5d 3s Ks] [2d]
Spider2306: checks
t1riel: bets 210
sktch420qn: calls 210
k no 1 putts: calls 210
Spider2306: calls 210
*** RIVER *** [5d 3s Ks 2d] [Ts]
Spider2306: checks
t1riel: checks
sktch420qn: checks
k no 1 putts: bets 120
Spider2306: folds
t1riel: calls 120
sktch420qn: calls 120
*** SHOW DOWN ***
k no 1 putts: shows [As Ad] (a pair of Aces)
t1riel: mucks hand
sktch420qn: mucks hand
k no 1 putts collected 2190 from pot
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 2190 | Rake 0
Board [5d 3s Ks 2d Ts]
Seat 1: sktch420qn mucked [Kh Jh]
Seat 2: DDaniels22 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 3: sorrow16 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 4: sethster23 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 6: k no 1 putts (button) showed [As Ad] and won (2190) with a pair of Aces
Seat 7: Spider2306 (small blind) folded on the River
Seat 8: Austin Rules (big blind) folded before Flop
Seat 9: t1riel mucked [Qh Kd]


Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
Hmm. I don't think you could have...although AK is a definate possibility here. You played like anyone else would have. No raise on the flop, no excessive betting...he hid it very well. Too bad :(
Dorkus Malorkus

Dorkus Malorkus

Jul 12, 2005
Total posts
He played AA about as badly as it is possible to play AA there.

Why are you minraising UTG with KQo, by the way? :p


May 11, 2006
Total posts
yea - he won the hand but i agree with dorkus, he played it very poorly. not only did he risk losing the hand at every stage by letting too many people in preflop and then letting them try to hit the spade draw or a set, but he didn't get as many chips out of you as he could have. very poorly played. you should be happy he didn't bust you out on this hand... as for the other question, KQ UTG is marginal, at best... early in a tournament, i probably would've folded that hand or been very cautious if i called and didn't hit a set ;)