Lessons for crippling hand

insolitude

insolitude

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
So I'm ITM in this MTT, and I think I kind of took my eye off the price with the hand below. The chip leaders were routinely throwing out these 3xBB raises to try to steal the blinds. A few hands earlier I reraised another ~4xBB with a solid hand and ended up taking down the pot right then and there.

Looking back, I think I should have probably flat-called this PF and check-folded a missed flop to any decent post-flop action.

I'm sitting okay with chips at this point in the tourney (I can't remember exactly, I think I'm in the top half. I REALLY wanted to make the final table, and I think my PF raise here was the critical error that prevented me from doing so.

Any of you more seasoned MTT players care to help out with my analysis, please do. I'm new to MTT, so overall I'm happy with my results.

pokerstars Game #16329033820: Tournament #82671267, $4.00+$0.40 Hold'em No Limit - Level X (400/800) - 2008/03/29 - 02:29:46 (ET)
Table '82671267 7' 9-max Seat #7 is the button
Seat 2: chimpo80 (10655 in chips)
Seat 3: insolitude (18178 in chips)
Seat 4: Lochnivar (17909 in chips)
Seat 5: Hells Devil (41087 in chips)
Seat 6: Prof.ChaoZ (34583 in chips)
Seat 7: chardtibo (14171 in chips)
chimpo80: posts the ante 75
insolitude: posts the ante 75
Lochnivar: posts the ante 75
Hells Devil: posts the ante 75
Prof.ChaoZ: posts the ante 75
chardtibo: posts the ante 75
chimpo80: posts small blind 400
insolitude: posts big blind 800
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to insolitude [Ac 9c]
Lochnivar: raises 1600 to 2400
Hells Devil: folds
Prof.ChaoZ: folds
chardtibo: folds
chimpo80: folds
insolitude: raises 5600 to 8000
Lochnivar: raises 9834 to 17834 and is all-in
insolitude: calls 9834
*** FLOP *** [Ad Tc Jd]
*** TURN *** [Ad Tc Jd] [7c]
*** RIVER *** [Ad Tc Jd 7c] [7h]
*** SHOW DOWN ***
insolitude: shows [Ac 9c] (two pair, Aces and Sevens)