Ill concieved bluff, or nice mixup play

S

Shandy

Guest
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Total posts
159
Just wondering what you think of the following hand, not really bothered about the preflop play, i had this play in mind as soon as i called preflop- just to represent whatever came, should i have changed my mind on this flop? My thinking was that the bet on the flop by buddy could easily be a continuation bet, the call could basically be anything, i figured that either or both could have big As, but even AQ could make a laydown here on a good day, and both are left with plenty of chips if they fold so neither is pot committed, and also if someone really is serious about the hand then they both have enough chips to let me fold without having to call due to pot odds. And a call would not be the worst outcome either as 3 of the Js give me the nuts. Thoughts?

pokerstars Game #10360930404: Tournament #51838424, $30+$3 Hold'em No Limit -
Level VI (100/200) - 2007/06/10 - 02:49:45 (ET)
Table '51838424 5' 9-max Seat #7 is the button
Seat 1: rayzer01 (1350 in chips)
Seat 2: BUDDY3rd (9652 in chips)
Seat 3: Hintergrund (4790 in chips)
Seat 4: Xrunerrunner (1910 in chips)
Seat 5: 4RAYVEN (395 in chips) is sitting out
Seat 6: urrollismine (7400 in chips)
Seat 7: 222shay222 (10940 in chips)
Seat 8: PAEME (6412 in chips)
Seat 9: Hades1337 (1964 in chips)
PAEME: posts small blind 100
Hades1337: posts big blind 200
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to 222shay222 [Ts Qs]
rayzer01: folds
BUDDY3rd: raises 400 to 600
Hintergrund: calls 600
Xrunerrunner: folds
4RAYVEN: folds
urrollismine: folds
222shay222: calls 600
PAEME: folds
Hades1337: folds
*** FLOP *** [Ac 4d Kc]
BUDDY3rd: bets 600
Hintergrund: calls 600
222shay222: raises 1400 to 2000
BUDDY3rd: folds
Hintergrund: raises 2190 to 4190 and is all-in
222shay222: folds
Hintergrund collected 6700 from pot
Hintergrund: doesn't show hand
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 6700 | Rake 0
Board [Ac 4d Kc]
Seat 1: rayzer01 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 2: BUDDY3rd folded on the Flop
Seat 3: Hintergrund collected (6700)
Seat 4: Xrunerrunner folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 5: 4RAYVEN folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 6: urrollismine folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 7: 222shay222 (button) folded on the Flop
Seat 8: PAEME (small blind) folded before Flop
Seat 9: Hades1337 (big blind) folded before Flop
 
dj11

dj11

Legend
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Total posts
23,189
Awards
9
Since u were the chip leader going in, the bluff attempt is not invalid. That you had the good sense to fold the reraise was probably correct. Gut shots with 2 to come are 5 to 1 against. You'd only be getting 3.7 to 1 to bet.
 
calibanboy

calibanboy

Guest
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Total posts
363
Two people in raised pot before you would indicate an ace somewhere and a extra raise of 1400 to a pot of 4000 is not going to scare anyone away who has that ace. So in effect you are building the pot with only four outs.
 
Stefanicov

Stefanicov

Legend
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Total posts
1,631
twas simply bad timing to bluff into rse and call with the ace and king on board prob wasnt the best time.
 
S

Shandy

Guest
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Total posts
159
Hi
Thanks for the replys, yeah now i think about it, it probably was a donkish move, although at the time i did quite like the play, altho at the time i was drunk as well- so maybe my judgement was a little.
Cheers for the feedback
 
tiltboy

tiltboy

Guest
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Total posts
120
i used to do things like this. You need to evaluate the board and the action before making a move like that. It was a bad move.
 
skoldpadda

skoldpadda

Caveman Eye Surgeon
Loyaler
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Total posts
3,769
Awards
2
Yeah, bad time to bluff. You shouldn't make up your mind to do it pre-flop. When there's an EP raise and caller and AK on board with flush draw as well, it's not the time for a bluff. You want preferably 1 person to play against and preferably you're the one who has raised PF and thus has the initiative in the betting.
 
Top