B

Blufferboy

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
GB
Chips
Hi,

I’m a relative beginner to poker. I’m seeking some advice on a recent hand in the early stages of a MTT tournament (max 8 handed):

Effective stacks 100BB (as this was the 9th hand)

I raise 3BB UTG with QQ
Button 3 bets to 12 BB.
I call.

Flop JJ8

Check.Check

Turn A

Check. Check

River Q

I bet 12 BB

Button raises all in. I call only for my opponent to show AA.

My question is, how could I have played this better? I was hoping my opponent had AK but feared he had AA.

Any thoughts?

Andyreas

Andyreas

Total posts
Awards
DE
Chips
Hey buddy,

thanks for posting your hand! We also have a hand converter where you can paste the text Hand history and it will be nicely converted into a replay video or easy to read text:

As for your hand, it's basically just a standard cooler with QQ Vs AA. When you hit a boat on river, there's basically no getaway from it. 😕

But happy to hear other thoughts of our poker regulars. 😊

Pokerpoet2

Pokerpoet2

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
Happened to me slow playing KK, Flop drops AKQ I check he bets out holding AK I call.
Turn is a brick and he bets out again, I have to call.
Then the River comes Barry Greenstein, The Ace from space so sickening but That's Poker!
I just chalk it up as another bad beat!
You just never know what the outcome is going to be with any 2 cards.

mariussica88

mariussica88

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
RO
Chips
First what buy-in is this tournament, it matters a lot, but since you said you are a beginner player I take this is mostly a freeroll or a micro stake. So the pool of player type in them is quite wide.