$.55 NLHE MTT Rebuy: All in preflop - was it a good call?

bigredwolf

bigredwolf

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi there,

I have never done a hand analysis before so wanted to start with something simple. I feel I should call with my 99 here but I want some reassurance :).

It was a while ago but I believe this was early-mid MTT and ICM was not a factor. Blinds 300/600. I was 23bb deep.

https://www.cardschat.com/replayer/524CuKyGH

Thanks in advance

J

Julez97

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Assuming that we are still a ways away from cashing, and there is no ICM, then I would say its good to call here. Certainly would help to have some read on villain since its over a 20bb shove so he shouldn't be too light. But if you think he can have hands like AK, AQ, maybe AJs, and even some worse pairs like 77, 88, than you should have enough equity to call here vs his entire range.

thehangdude

thehangdude

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
You raised 3.5X. What was your reason for raising so large? Normally I raise 2.5X @ 35BB. If 3.5X is your typical raise at this point in the tournament, then fine.

Now Button comes over the top with a 5X 3bet, going all in. With this little information, you need to decide if he is trying to isolate or has a monster. In micro stakes mtt, there is no way of knowing the villain's hand, but I think we can put him on AJ+ and 66+ at least. This range puts you under 50%, but you are putting 13.500 in to win 21,000 (putting win odds needed at 40%).

I have been on both sides of this call/fold. I have kicked myself for the wrong decision both ways, when really there is no right answer. The real choice is whether having 42,000 chips is worth gambling being down to 8000 at this point in the tourney.

Not knowing how you are doing in the overall tournament means I can't answer for you. It appears you are doing well at this table, so why risk your tournament life on a middle pair?

300HPGOD

Legend