$530 NLHE MTT: Surprised by Hero calling off stack with 77

J

johnnythemoss

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
This hand was played by a professional tournament player and I was very surprised by the action.

Hero had 30BB on the bubble in CO position. The short-stacked UTG shoved for 10BB and MP then 3bet all-in for 35BB. Hero snap-called with 77.

I was following the hand and expected a fold facing the 3bet shove for Hero's whole stack. If it was just the 10BB shove then I expected Hero to re-shove. But calling off 30BB with 77 really surprised me. Just wondered what you guys thought of that.

300HPGOD

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I wouldn't be on board with this but I'm not a professional (You would especially know that if you've seen me play) so hero possibly could know something we dont. Its possible to get in a good scenario here where you are up against double AK or you have AK vs AQ and then your 7s but too often you will be running into an overpair by the call and I just can't see the reason to put 30 BBs in the middle on this. However, it could be that the caller has a history of calling light and the hero is only looking at the caller because even if they lose to UTG, they could still win the side pot and gain chips. Even with that thought I still don't like the call as you will rarely triple up (Actually less then triple given one 10BB stack) given you are going against two hands with 7s and when you are right you are only netting 10BBs or so from winning the side pot. Better to fold and to save the 30BBs for another move.

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Does not seem like a good call to me either. Even if MP is out of line, 77 is not the best hand to get after him with, since its still only flipping with a lot of his range. UTG should also not be jamming all that light for 10BB, if its on the bubble.

liuouhgkres

liuouhgkres

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
KH
Chips