£5 NLHE STT: Felt I couldn't get away - when should I have folded?

D

DrSparky

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

I'm posting what I feel was an awful hand, but I am a beginner and am wondering just how awful it is...

So background: STT Live, we've been playing for just over an hour and have come back from the break, Villian is an ok player and has been picking up some very lucky cards, he has been playing a bit loose as a consequence (estimated VPIP 35-40%, PFR 20% #hands in session approx: 50).

A couple of hands in I get an ok opener and so lead out with a raise, I miss the flop, but get a good read that the villian has also, I then three barrel bluff and come up against a better kicker.

My question is - when should I have given up with this? Comments at the table post play were that I played it right, but that it was a high risk move playing against the deep stack.

Live game so some stack sizes are estimates...
Live STT: Blinds $100/$200 - No Limit Holdem
Seat 1: Seat 1 ($3000)
Seat 2: Seat 2 ($3000)
Seat 3: Hero ($4000)
Seat 4: Seat 4 ($5000)
Seat 5: Seat 5 ($1500)
Seat 6: Seat 6 ($1500)
Seat 7: Villian ($8000)
Seat 8: Seat 8 ($5000)
Seat 9: Seat 9 ($3000)
Seat 1 posts the small blind of $100
Seat 2 posts the big blind of $200
The button is in seat #9
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Hero [As Js]
Hero raises to $600
Seat 4 folds
Seat 5 folds
Seat 6 folds
Villian calls $600
Seat 8 folds
Seat 9 folds
Seat 1 folds
Seat 2 folds
*** FLOP *** [Kh 2s 8c]
Pot: $1500
Hero bets $600
Villian calls $600
*** TURN *** [Kh 2s 8c] 8♦
Pot: $2700
Hero bets $1200
Villian calls $1200
*** RIVER *** [Kh 2s 8c 8d] 8♥
Pot $5100
Hero bets $1600 and is all in
Villian calls $1600
Hero shows [As Js]
Villian shows [Ad Qc]

duggs

duggs

Killing me softly
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips