$5.50 NLHE MTT Deep Stacked: KK vs. 79o

B

bellicoso

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I had KK on the button. Blinds were 200/400. I had about 25k chips, villain had about 20k. Villain raised to 800 from the lowjack. I 3-bet 2400. Villain calls. Flop comes 6 8 T rainbow. Villain checks. I half-pot bet, villain calls. Turn is something like a 3. Villain checks. I half-pot bet again, villain calls. River I can't remember but it was nothing alarming. Villain stalls and shoves. I can't imagine he has 7 9 at all. But I asked myself, does he have that?? NOPE!!! I call. Villain shows 79o...

This character gave me no indication he would play something like that. Granted I am still studying, but this had me shocked. He folded almost the entire time I watched him in the previous 20 minutes of play. To be honest, I thought he had a set. But I was more convinced he was full of it. All I can think is that he got bored and just wanted to play a hand and got lucky... I'm so flabbergasted :D

To be fair, I totally over-played my hand. But, again, just wasn't expecting that hand from the villain. Lesson learned, but I'd like to hear when you all would've thrown in the towel.

Thanks in advance!

Rahatis

Rahatis

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
If not just bored as you said, he probably knew it was a good spot to stack a nit. If you had such an image.
Bigger 3bet pre and bigger cbet ,even overbet, next time. See how it goes! You are deep enough. First step charge, second step get owned by randoms, third step play ps4.
Also take a note on him.

jadaminato

jadaminato

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
That is the problem of the micro limits, the players do not have defined ranges. And while this is more exploitable in general terms, the reality is that giving the villain a probable range of hands during the game is quite complicated.

marvinsytan

marvinsytan

I'm going to win The PokerStars Sunday Million
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
PH
Chips