$2.20 NLHE MTT Turbo: Did I make a loose call?

T

Think

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Guy lost a big hand and I know he shoved with air from the small blind (saying he was on tilt and site was rigged LOL) . However, it was very marginal since I called with A2 off suit. Turned out I was right but he was 500 chips deep at 20-40 blinds.

Did I risk too much?

My Logic: I like to make thin calls where I believe I am right in order to accumulate as many chips as possible early on. Having a big stack is always a goal of mine but I do need to know my risk reward ratio.

I am a beginner and I will appreciate your input.

Jblocher1

Jblocher1

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Ok do he had like a little over 10 BB.... If you thought he was just a crazy tilter shoving any two cards then I think your play is fine. You need to be excepting that he will sometimes have you dominated lol

el_magiciann

el_magiciann

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Thats only 10 bb but I really am trying to avoid any flips because i am not lucky on flips even i am 70/30 ahead. And with A2 It is just a coin flip so, folding should be better for you this time :)

Propane Goat

Propane Goat

Grinder and paint make me the welder I ain't
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Don't always believe what people say in chat, in fact you should probably never believe it.

I got scammed one time in an MTT when EP raised and said it was a misclick in chat so I shoved 76s from the BB, well well well come to find out villain had KK. I was pretty short so maybe it was or wasn't a good decision, but I certainly learned something there.

Also, when people shove the next hand after losing a huge pot don't rule out the possibility that they may actually have a monster, I've seen people fall into this trap a lot. People often do shove ATC on the next hand because they're tilted and are giving up on the tournament, but the challenge is to figure out when to call and when not to.

J

jj20002

Visionary