$1 NLHE MTT Turbo Rebuy: $$1 NLHE MTT Turbo Rebuy: OESD OOP vs tight villain

L

LeGenie

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys I recently started playing tournaments and would like some feedback on the best way to approach this hand.

Hero(BB) $5935 - VP:13 PFR:4 AF:2.0 W:75|67 STL: 3B:11|0 CB: N:3025 hands:24

Villain (BTN) $1910 - VP:13 PFR:0 AF:1.0 W:75|67 STL: 3B:0| CB: N:1150 Hands:24

Blinds 30/60 no ante

Pre Flop: Hero(BB) with T♠ 8♣

P388(UTG) folds, P127(MP) folds, P102(MP) calls 60, P191(MP) folds, P266(LP) folds, P319(CO) calls 60, Villain(BTN) calls 60, P155(SB) calls 30, Hero(BB) checks

Flop: 4:diamond: J:club: 9:spade: (5 players)300 in pot

P155(SB) checks, Hero(BB) bets 150, P102(MP) calls 150, P319(LP) folds, Villain(BTN) raises 720, P155(SB) folds, Me(BB) calls 570, P102(MP) folds

When villain raises to 720 the pot has 1320 in it so I would like to know would you just ship it here even though you are not getting correct odds to shove or would you just call the raise which gives us proper odds to see a turn card and then fold if we miss the turn?

Villains range consists of AJ,44,99 and over pairs "most likely QQ"

Thanks in advance guys!

Jacki Burkhart

Jacki Burkhart

long winded rambler...
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
a few questionable assumptions here

first of all, I don't think you have odds to be calling his flop 3bet....by my calculations your pot odds are 2.3:1 and you're looking at about 4:1 to hit an open ender....

Secondly i disagree with your range assessment, although you were at the table, so you'd know better than me...but I don't think overpairs are very likely in his range...limping on the button like that with 2 other limpers with QQ or better? I don't think so.

I'd guess the worst he'll show up with is KJ or sometimes AJ (but a lot of players will raise limpers on the button with AJ), but most likely he has, J9, 99, or 44.