$1 NLHE MTT: QQ out of position All-in shove...GTO?

J

joeyvegasboi

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi Everyone,

I was seated in early position with pocket queens. With antes in play I raise to 3x. I get one caller in MP and the button raises very small.

Here is where my question comes into right play (mainly) on if I did the right thing. Being out of position I shove which both players have me covered although all fairly big stacked.

MP folds button calls with KJo.

Board runs J 6 A K A and I am out.

I am fairly new to tournament play but up until this point was doing well playing TAG and chipping up here and there.

For GTO strategy how I looked at it was being out of position, more than likely being the lead as these guys weren't the tightest players Ive seen, I was picking up equity by shoving as my stack at that point was only 2 times the pot size it had built too before my shove.

To win tournaments cause I felt was doing goo until this point should I not "risk it" even when having a good hand and trying to take down the pot pre flop for a nice chip up? If I called and he bet the flop given his pre flop raise Itd be safe to think he had an ace probably altho then I would be getting away from it and still be in the tournament! just losing a nice little chunk...

Should I not be taking a risk since I am chipping up slowly to remove such an all in variance or are those just the risks to take in hopes of winning a tourney as qq against 1 higher 1 lower card is only still a 2/3 times win rate. Or did I do the right thing and just got dealt a bad beat?

Thanks,

jho

jho

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You had excellent odds on your side, but anytime another player has even one higher card there is an uncomfortable probability that your starting cards will bust.

Any card will pair up around one in three hands. So you ran into bad luck but it's not surprising.