$1.65 NLHE MTT: Any Tips for More Optimal Play?

S

sundizzel

Enthusiast
Total posts
So the result is here pretty much what I expected, but I am wondering how I could have played the hand better starting right from the pre-flop bet, especially because I have little experience at deeper stack levels.

It's just a few hands after the start of the tournament, and I am dealt AKo (AhKc) in MP with 172 BB on a 9 player table. UTG and UTG+1 both fold, so the remaining relevant stacks are:
  • MP: 172 BB (Me)
  • LJ: 151 BB
  • HJ: 161 BB
  • CO: 382 BB
  • BTN: 181 BB
  • SB: 187 BB
  • BB: 224 BB
Since it's folded to me, I open for 2.5 BB, which I realize is small, but there is still a lot of action behind me with pretty decent chances of a re-raise the way the table has been going. Should I have opened larger here? If so, how much?

LJ folds, HJ calls, CO folds, BTN folds, SB folds, BB calls.

Flop comes 66T (6s6cTc). I check being out of position in a 3-way pot, HJ bets half-pot 4.6 BB into 9.6 BB, BB calls, and I call, feeling okay with my two overcards and the Kc as a little insurance policy and my Ah as a light blocker against the Ac (is that logic right?).

Turn comes Ks. I check out of position 3-way again expecting some more betting. However, both other players check, as well. Should I have value bet here with top pair, top kicker up against the spades and clubs backdoor draws (for which my club no longer qualifies) and the set? I figured it would be pretty hard for the HJ to have a 6, but it seemed quite feasible at the time that the BB would have plenty of 6x in their range.

River comes 2d. I check again out of position still 3-way, HJ checks, and BB bets 17.25 BB into 23 BB. Now here I was torn because 1) the last round of betting went check-check-check, 2) HJ still to act behind me, 3) flush draws and the nut straight draw (which we block a bit of) missed, and 4) I've got top pair, top kicker, which feels like it's good most of the time.