$1.50 NLHE STT: What would you do here?

L

LuisBoaC

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Villain doubled-up early in tourney and has since continued to build his stack with loose aggressive play. I have been playing fairly tight.

pokerstars, $1.29 + $0.21 - Hold'em No Limit - 40/80 (10 ante) - 7 players
Replay this hand on Upswing Poker

UTG: 4,302 (54 bb)
MP: 974 (12 bb)
MP+1 (Hero): 3,498 (44 bb)
CO: 1,633 (20 bb)
BU: 769 (10 bb)
SB: 1,386 (17 bb)
BB: 938 (12 bb)

Pre-Flop: (190) Hero is MP+1 with 8 8
UTG raises to 200, 1 fold, Hero calls 200, 4 players fold

Flop: (590) A 2 8 (2 players)
UTG checks, Hero bets 320, UTG calls 320

Turn: (1,230) 4 (2 players)
UTG checks, Hero bets 820, UTG calls 820

River: (2,870) J (2 players)
UTG bets 1,435, Hero calls 1,435

F

FernandPoker

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
First of all, I'm a beginner, so don't think all I say is right.

All in all, I would have done the same and I think you played it well. Call pre-flop is fine, would a 3-bet have been possible too, knowing he's pretty loose ?
Post-flop, betting is a must, sizing is ok I guess with these two hearts.
Turn, another spade, should two-barrel here, 2/3 pot. I would have gone for a bigger bet, especially against this player.
River, crap, bad card, vilain bets 1/2 pot. What does he represent, what bluffs does he have ? Honestly, after a check-check-bet, he does represent a flush-draw. What could he bluff with ? I think a call is good here, and I hope to see him on a missed-heart flush, even thought I wouldn't understand the call on the turn. AXo, with the A of spades, is also in his range, and that could be a one of his bluffs.
If you're unlucky, you'll maybe be facing an AsXs ? Difficult hand, I would've called I think. I still have a feeling that you're behind, but I would love to hear other people's thoughts.
Thanks for posting too.

F

FernandPoker

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Forget my first comment, sorry.