$0.50 NLHE MTT Turbo: Did I miss value on the River with a set in the SB?

mrxuptown

mrxuptown

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm still a beginner and I am working on finding value spots in MTTs. I've heard varience is very high so I want to be able to accumulate as many chips as can when in value spots.

This hand is from the early stages of an ACR 0.50 On Demand Turbo. The villain was an unknown that just got to the table so I have no info on them. Besides that, the table was a pretty tight table with every one folding unless they were somewhat strong.

Yatahay Network - 500/1000 NL - Holdem - 6 players

MP: 29.9 BB
CO: 26.31 BB
BTN: 26.3 BB
Hero (SB): 35.36 BB
BB: 39.54 BB
UTG: 59.7 BB

6 players post ante of 0.1 BB, Hero posts SB 0.5 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 2.1 BB) Hero has 6 6

fold, MP calls 1 BB, fold, fold, Hero calls 0.5 BB, BB checks

Flop: (3.6 BB, 3 players) 6 T 5
Hero bets 1 BB, BB calls 1 BB, MP calls 1 BB

Turn: (6.6 BB, 3 players) J
Hero bets 4.95 BB, fold, MP calls 4.95 BB

River: (16.5 BB, 2 players) 3
Hero checks, MP checks

Now I checked because I thought that I was playing as if I missed a draw/had a weak pair hoping to induce a bluff but would it have been a good opportunity to fire a value bet? I felt a river bet would've looked too strong and cause villain to fold. Would a smaller turn bet be better? I guess in that spot J10o or something like that would call but let me know your thoughts.

I didn't raise Pre because I hate raising with small pairs then gettin 3 Bet or shoved on by the new player then I have to fold.

freddydr87

freddydr87

League Champion
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips