$0.5 NLHE STT: Is this an obvious fold? AK vs 2 shoves

B

Bouta

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, as for the start - I'm a beginner but I'm exploring the poker theory and wisdom thoroughly, though some spots still are really problematic for me. For this one here, I should have totally followed my gut, this is early STT and as I'm blocking A and K a bit I didn't expect anything else than some pairs here. How do you guys behave? Is this an obvious fold?

https://www.cardschat.com/replayer/224Lx6d7U

S

Sbrzz

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You are still in the early stages of STT and you had almost 50 blinds.
If you don't want to flip your AK all in right at the beginning, just call in this situation, as there are still four players to your left.
The small blind going all in after a raise and a 3bet, indicates that he has a very strong AK and QQ + hand.

vsawake01

vsawake01

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Look like this is MTT with strange structure.

You have less then 30BB. You 3-bet and villain call or all in. You should be ready for that. So for me this is call or all in.

SecksyGambler

SecksyGambler

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It looks like you played the situation well. You might even want to increase your three-bet sizing to 3.5-4.5x of what middle position bet for the extra value in fold equity and to ensure the fact that you're getting it in against hands like pocket tens and jacks.
I'd recommend that you always follow +Ev situations like this one throughout the vast majority of your tournaments (with few exceptions when you're on the bubble or at the final table).
At the end of the day you're getting a 36% chance to triple your stack, it's a good spot to be in, it's just unfortunate you didn't get lucky this time.

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips