Tourney Question

2

2in10se

Rising Star
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Total posts
8
I dont know if I poted this in right place but here goes.
I played a home game recently and this situation came up.
Player1(Dealer) Player2(SB) Player3(BB)
Player1 raises, Player2 folds, Player3 goes all in and Player1 calls eliminating Player3 the big blind. Now, how do the blinds rotate? Player1 now becomes the big blind and Player2 becomes the dealer with no small blind for this round right? This is how I thought the blinds rotate but the host says that player2 (who just paid the small blind) has to pay the small blind again! He said that when your heads up the dealer is also the small blind which I agree with him on that but that wont be until the blinds rotate again, right? If we do it his way, Player2 will have to pay the small blind twice and thats what I didnt agree with but Im still not sure. We were playing standard poker rules no custom rules or anything. So can someone tell me what the proper blind placement is when your three handed and the big blind gets eliminated, I want to make sure the game is fair. Thanks in advance.
 
t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Joined
May 20, 2005
Total posts
6,913
Awards
1
I dont know if I poted this in right place but here goes.
I played a home game recently and this situation came up.
Player1(Dealer) Player2(SB) Player3(BB)
Player1 raises, Player2 folds, Player3 goes all in and Player1 calls eliminating Player3 the big blind. Now, how do the blinds rotate? Player1 now becomes the big blind and Player2 becomes the dealer with no small blind for this round right? This is how I thought the blinds rotate but the host says that player2 (who just paid the small blind) has to pay the small blind again! He said that when your heads up the dealer is also the small blind which I agree with him on that but that wont be until the blinds rotate again, right? If we do it his way, Player2 will have to pay the small blind twice and thats what I didnt agree with but Im still not sure. We were playing standard poker rules no custom rules or anything. So can someone tell me what the proper blind placement is when your three handed and the big blind gets eliminated, I want to make sure the game is fair. Thanks in advance.

It's now heads up right? So, whoever is next to be dealer (which would be player 2) will be the small blind and the other player will be big blind. If the big blind was still in and it was heads up, he will automatically be dealer next because you can't be the big blind twice.

In heads up, the dealer is always the small blind.
 
OzExorcist

OzExorcist

Broomcorn's uncle
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Total posts
8,583
Awards
1
That'd be my understanding too - it's only if someone would have ended up paying the big blind twice in a row that you'd move the button from its normal rotation when going to heads up.

Oh - and this probaby isn't the right place, but you've got your answer now. So huzzah and such.
 
2

2in10se

Rising Star
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Total posts
8
So your saying you have to pay the small blind twice in a row?

Why wouldnt it work like this

Player1 (Dealer) Player2(SB) Player3(BB)<--Eliminated
Player1(BB) Player2(Dealer) No SB
Player1(SB+Dealer) Player2(BB)
Player1(BB) Player2(SB+Dealer) and so on

Seems like it would work

But your saying its like this

Player1(Dealer) Player2(SB) Player3(BB)<--Eliminated
Player1(BB) Player2(SB+Dealer)<--Has to pay SB twice
 
aliengenius

aliengenius

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Total posts
4,596
Interesting.

What 2in10se is saying is that there would be a dead sb for the first hand.

I think that the dead small is probably the way it should be done (originally), but that the convention is to have two blinds from the very start of the HU match. I would bet that almost all tournaments make the player post the blind, however, and that his has become sort of a default standard procedure (one that may even have been codified into rule).
 
OzExorcist

OzExorcist

Broomcorn's uncle
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Total posts
8,583
Awards
1
I've gotta agree with AG, it feels like there should be a dead small blind. But the TDA rule says that:
"When heads up the button is the small blind and acts first. When beginning heads up play the button may need to be adjusted to ensure no player takes the big blind twice in a row"
Doesn't specify a dead small blind. Of course, the beauty of a home game is that if you can both agree to there being a dead small blind on the first hand of heads up and the actual rule doesn't matter.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
K_Kahne_Fan

K_Kahne_Fan

Legend
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Total posts
1,197
When a player was knocked out earlier, did (now SB) miss a BB by a table shift? (translation) it all comes out in the wash. However, I personally have a rules sheet I made up in Word and print it out before each game. If something like this arrises and everyone like the "dead SB" rule (or whatnot), I append it to the sheet before the next game.
 
Top