Something strange happen on ACR

wagon596

wagon596

Legend
Loyaler
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Total posts
3,767
Awards
12
Over the weekend I was playing in three tournaments at the same time on ACR. A freeroll and a couple of 25 cent tournaments. All of a sudden a message popped up. I don't remember what it exactly said, something like your account will come under investigation.

There was also a timer that was counting down, and it said click as soon as you can, So I clicked it and haven't heard anything else. Only thing I can figure, it was making sure I wasn't a bot. Looking at my winnings, it should have been clear that I'm not! :)
 
F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Total posts
10,282
Awards
1
Seems like it must have been a "bot check", and if you clicked on time, everything should be fine, I guess :)
 
Jason Bralli

Jason Bralli

Rock Star
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Total posts
331
Awards
1
I got this message twice, it's basically a test to see if you're human!

I didn't even pay attention to the question and clicked on anything, the message disappeared and I continued playing.

In other words, if it's not a test, it's not serving much more than taking your attention off the table!

GL :confused:
 
F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Total posts
10,282
Awards
1
According to Nathan Villiams pokerstars used to do the same years ago, if someone was accused of using bots. He was 24-tabling at the time, and many of his opponents though, he had to be using bots. So to test him PokerStars regularly putted and CAPCHA on one of his tables :)
 
W

WJMKAM

Rock Star
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Total posts
166
Awards
1
I also got a notice to click that I was real. Don't remember what it said exactly, but that it was a check to see if I was real.
 
skoldpadda

skoldpadda

Caveman Eye Surgeon
Loyaler
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Total posts
3,769
Awards
2
Yep, bot check. I get those in my cash games from time to time.
 
Poker Orifice

Poker Orifice

Legend
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Total posts
22,502
Awards
6
According to Nathan Villiams PokerStars used to do the same years ago, if someone was accused of using bots. He was 24-tabling at the time, and many of his opponents though, he had to be using bots. So to test him PokerStars regularly putted and CAPCHA on one of his tables :)


This happened often. Could also be for SnG's and you really didn't need to be playing that many tables for it to come up.
 
Viper ChipIt

Viper ChipIt

Rock Star
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Total posts
317
Yea it's just a bot check I get it when I play long sessions
 
ACESOVEREZZZ

ACESOVEREZZZ

Visionary
Joined
Jul 5, 2014
Total posts
770
Awards
2
Bot Check

I have gotten the same message a couple times. As others have said sounds like a "bot"
check . Both times I got the message it asked questions about poker hands and to pick the card that made the hand they were asking for.

GL All :D
 
Ice Wolf

Ice Wolf

Legend
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Total posts
1,007
I have gotten one of these that asked me to choose the card that would give me the top pair and not only was there no ace to give me top pair but there wasn't a card to give me a pair period. I picked the Q of spades which would have given me a royal flush and it said something about failing the prompt and that I would get an email later. Never received an email and that's been months so I guess someone reviewed the question and saw it was messed up so they dropped it.
 
mushthebush

mushthebush

Rock Star
Joined
Feb 21, 2021
Total posts
321
Awards
1
GB
Hi

I got this message a few times actually and thought I might let you know that it happens even if you, for example, fall asleep while in a tournament. I have gone to sleep while in playing tournaments on ACR and have failed several times the bot check. Out of fear I contacted them and they said it's just a regular bot check that they do and if you fail it, they supposedly contact you by e-mail. I have never gotten an e-mail from them. However, I have not had any trouble with them so far, but again I am not using bots.

WARNING!
On the other hand I have been banned by Ladbrokes and Coral for using bots even though I have not used bots. I reported these guys to IBAS and they investigated it for nearly 8 months and then they sent me their printed decision pretty much saying that Bookies like Ladbrokes can do whatever the f they want whenever they want and that they will not analyise every hand of my play in order to find wether or not I was genuinely playing as per my request. So I had my funds stolen by them and accounts permanently locked without a fair investigation or any explanation, proof or the real reason for taking action against me. I had not deposited, so I didn't abuse anything, and also I didn't lose money, but rather a lot of time and had won quite a few dollars at their freerolls. I am proof that fair players can get screwed at any time, without reason.
 
Roller

Roller

Legend
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Total posts
1,844
Awards
3
US
Bot checks are a good thing in general but can be a distraction when your multi tabling many tournaments simultaneously. Appears you simply got checked to verify if you are real or bottish.
 
Alizona

Alizona

Visionary
Joined
Oct 10, 2020
Total posts
820
Awards
1
It's obviously not a perfect solution, let's say you step away from your computer and miss the check, they could theoretically ban you for being a bot.

But overall, its very nice to see ACR at least taking SOME steps and making SOME effort to catch "players" who are using automation software to play their poker (i.e. "bots").

For this reason, I never get upset when the popup appears, I just do what it asks and keep going.
 
antonis32123

antonis32123

Legend
Loyaler
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Total posts
5,112
Awards
19
I got this check 3 times until now , not more , but I didn't have any more problems like forbidding me to play for some time , I hopre noone has any kind of such a problem with ACR (or other poker room ) , it sucks when it happens ...:(
 
Top