Protecting your hole cards

When is a bet officially made.

  • A verbal bet is all you need chips don't matter.

    Votes: 15 78.9%
  • Putting your chips in the middle constitutes a bet.

    Votes: 4 21.1%

  • Total voters
    19
titans4ever

titans4ever

Legend
Nothing worse than someone not protecting their hole cards. Was I wrong. The room debated the issue for the rest of the night on both sides.

I see people all the time declare their intentions, call, fold, raise, etc. and I assume you have to honor what you just said.

We were at a final table of a home tournament. Someone verbally called an all-in, then said "no I don't" and quickly flipped his cards into the discard pile before anyone could say anything. How do you tell a friend that you have to honor the verbal call of the all-in? The room went wild trying to claim both sides. I stuck to my guns and forced him to honor the bet and he was left with just the community cards (I could have made him out of the hand but since we did not have any rule about it before, I let him play only the community cards). Only saving grace is that he had more money than the all in better but was severly cripped after the call.
 
IrishDave

IrishDave

A Member
The last live game I was at in Atlanta, one player discarded his cards and they got mixed in with another players live cards. The guy caught a str8 but the rule says live cards+dead cards=dead cards...
 
tenbob

tenbob

Legend
Awards
1
OK, lets get this clear, if your mate ANNOUNCED all-in, then he is all-in, simple. If he shoves his chips to the center in ONE movement, he is also all-in. If he either announces call or puts the correct amount of chips in the middle then it is a call.

If you muck your hole cards AFTER announcing call, your hand is folded. Now there is loads of local variants on these rules, but they should be made perfectly clear before-hand. Feel free to correct me if im wrong on this.

As regards the poll, both options should be done togther, announce then place your chips in the middle. So im not voting;)
 
gordo30

gordo30

Rock Star
he made a verbal play and should have been kept to that play.same if someone crossed the line with a call then he cannot raise or go allin afterwards unless he denoted it before .
 
JAMILE1

JAMILE1

Cardschat Elite
From the official rules of the wsop rule# 30 states:

Verbal declarations in turn are binding. Action out of turn may be binding.

if the player is acting in turn than this rule applies and may be binding if declaring out of turn. I guess the latter at the discretion of tourney director maybe an honest mistake they will overlook

But I guess you gotta declare your house rules before time so no one can say anything, heres a link to the rules so maybe copy them and set them in place for your home game. hope the mods don't mind me putting link if so I apologize

[link removed~tb]
 
Last edited by a moderator:
titans4ever

titans4ever

Legend
I have always declared what my intentions are and then put the chips in the middle. That way if I error in chip value my intentions are already known. Most of the time that is how most of my friends play. It was a learning experience for everyone that night.
 
trentonlf

trentonlf

Guest
I help run a local tourney on fridays and saturdays and we have had this situation come up a few times.

Any verbal bet is considered binding. Just remember if they call the bet and then try to raise that is string betting and that is not allowed, but if they announce raise before any chips are placed into the pot then they must raise. If they try to say all in and then say no wait i meant fold they must go all in.

I have actually been involved in a hand raised all in, thought eveyone folded and mucked my cards, and just my luck guy to my right was still thinking about it and had his cards in front of him. Since i mucked my cards i lost the hand and all my chips :(

g/l
 
beardyian

beardyian

Scary Clown
Awards
2
If you say "i'm all-in" - you're all-in, pure and simple as that.

Its the same as being pregnant - either you are or your not, nothing in between.

And for online play - once you press the button you cant press an "undo" can you? :p

IanT
 
robwhufc

robwhufc

Cardschat Elite
I thought it was "hold" cards, not "hole" cards. Have I got that wrong?
 
duesXmachina

duesXmachina

Guest
I also could not pick A or B on the survey asa both are a correct way to make your play. No renigging, NO BRINGING DEAD CARDS BACK TO LIFE, no string betting, I think that sums it up..... OH YEAH NOO REENIGGING. If you say all in then it is now someone else's action and you are all-in. FIN
 
A

AK Slick

Guest
tenbob said:
OK, lets get this clear, if your mate ANNOUNCED all-in, then he is all-in, simple. If he shoves his chips to the center in ONE movement, he is also all-in. If he either announces call or puts the correct amount of chips in the middle then it is a call.

If you muck your hole cards AFTER announcing call, your hand is folded.

This is 100% correct. It doesn't even have to be put in the middle. Forward movement of the chips is all that is needed. The only time it is not, is when you are stacking/counting chips.
 
Crippler450

Crippler450

Guest
Technically, he was all in. But when I play with friends, I think it's pretty rude to be such a stickler for the rules. If you are so hardcore about playing that you make him play only the community cards, I'm not sure I would want to play at your game. There's nothing wrong with playing by the rules, but I have much more fun when playing laid back, for fun as well as money. I would have let him fold, but commented for him not to do it again.
 
Top