Warrior1961

Warrior1961

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
"Reflections from the fish tank"

The catharsis of fish (lucubrations of one who wants to stop being fish)

By Carlos A. García.

Hello people. There are times that, like every beginner, I question things that I suppose that the 10% of winning players in poker (or whatever percentage) will have exceeded them.
I will be exposing here my doubts as a rookie (bah, 10 years ago I played double or nothing semi-professionally but today's poker is another, so 5 months ago I feel like I started from scratch again).
In reality, poker is no other, the players are others, because there are preflop tables even on toilet paper and years ago only Carreño's books and the occasional forum or school were in Spanish.
Being out of work (I'm a taxi driver and I'm almost 59 years old, so my wife only gets in my car and I take her temperature first haha), I play poker thinking about money and I think that's a problem (I'm convinced that "whoever plays out of necessity loses out of obligation").
So the question is: is poker a game for people with money? Because you play freerolls, suddenly two or three shit rooms are closed to you and they keep half your bankroll, and go to court in The Hague ...
Freerolls are clearly part of the poker bankroll learning and training curve but: how do you know when to jump into bigger challenges, call it cash, sits, low buy in or spins (never played these)?
10 years ago we played double or nothing of 5 euros with my wife and we lived almost a year of them, but we played benches (or as you say in English) and we were swindled (I was always pretty dumb for the money).
Today the dons are not profitable, so to something else butterfly.
The fish "reflection" of today is: supposing that I choose to play cash (I am thinking of it to complement the mtt) I have not seen many strategies for NL2 (to top it off I am from the old guard and I have a hard time adapting to 6 max).