PC and Notebook Settings

ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
How to get the best configuration ???

Hello people!

All right ?

I am creating this topic so that we can discuss computer settings, either desktop or note.

Many times I came across doubts on the subject.

What is most important for a good computer to play our poker:
  • CPU;
  • Memory;
  • Video card;
  • All previous;
Because not everyone can start their games with a perfect machine, so the second question comes: What is the minimum configuration to play on one or two sites together?

I believe that just like me, who also have goals to improve my Note and my PC, we have several members here in the Group.

I didn't find anything very specific, I hope that with this topic we can resolve these doubts and help in this regard.

I thank the collaboration of all.
 
Everaldo

Everaldo

Rock Star
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Total posts
375
Awards
7
Good afternoon. I have the same problem as you. Being that I play in a Notebook and I also look for a better configuration. As soon as I can I will set up a specific PC for games.
 
MattRyder

MattRyder

🍏 Tech That Works!
Joined
Sep 12, 2013
Total posts
8,108
Awards
15
I think most poker sites don't really require much in terms of computing power. 8 GB RAM is fine on my 8 year old iMac for most poker software, although GGPoker seems to be a bit on the resource intensive end.
 
moots

moots

Min-cash specialist
Champion
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Total posts
9,090
Awards
8
CA
Usually any desktop or laptop made in the last 10 years will be good enough to run poker clients. As long as you have 2GB of RAM you should be fine.

If you want to run multiple clients and have them viewable on your screen at the same time, you probably need a display that is at least 1920x1080.

Are you having problems running a poker client?
 
ChickenArise

ChickenArise

Legend
Loyaler
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Total posts
2,089
Awards
1
Im using an 8 year old laptop running WIN 7. I have a newer Mac but this laptop works mostly fine.

It struggles a bit with poker stars Aurora graphics but only if I run multiple tables in which case I turn the Aurora Graphics off.

My specs are probably the minimum you will want to have.
 

Attachments

  • my computer specs.jpg
    my computer specs.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 19
ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
I think most poker sites don't really require much in terms of computing power. 8 GB RAM is fine on my 8 year old iMac for most poker software, although GGPoker seems to be a bit on the resource intensive end.



I really think that nowadays to use the computer for games, we have to have about 8GB (RAM) ...
 
ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
Moots and Chicken Arise, thanks for responding ...

My Configuration is:
  • OS: Windows 10
  • CPU: Intel E5500 @ 2.80Ghz
  • RAM: 4.00 GB
  • MB: Intel DG41WV
  • Graphics: GeForce 210
  • Storage: 111GB SATA SSD / 298GB Seagate SATA / 931GB Western Digital SATA
And when I open a second client it starts to crash, sometimes I even have 3 clients open, in which case I already need to close everything and just stay with them ...

I usually play on the following platforms:
  • PokerStars
  • ACR
  • Party Poker
  • GG Poker
  • 888 Poker
  • Sports Betting
  • Bet Online
  • Natural 8
  • Bodog
  • HighStakes
I use two monitors, a SAMSUNG SyncMaster 2232BW and my PHILIPS TV - 43 '
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]And in this configuration of mine I see that the CPU and RAM can be the villains of history ...
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]
 
TommyT

TommyT

Rock Star
Joined
Jul 7, 2019
Total posts
145
Just built my new pc, 16gb ram, Gtx Gforce 1060 6gb graphics card, ryzen 5 3600 cpu and 600 watt psu. Runs any game and any poker softwear without problems. Will eventually upgrade my graphics card but Im stuck in a loosing streak so im out of pocket lol
 
ADRI7HO

ADRI7HO

On the road...
Loyaler
Joined
May 6, 2020
Total posts
4,141
Awards
2
I also think you can play poker perfectly with a completely average PC.
Nothing extra, I’ve been playing Intel factory graphics card PCs as well and running the Poker software smoothly.

Good luck.:cheers:
 
ADRI7HO

ADRI7HO

On the road...
Loyaler
Joined
May 6, 2020
Total posts
4,141
Awards
2
This is reading is king! :icon_king

I didn't think of that, but from now on I will pay attention to it as well. :rolleyes:

I might be able to add that I think a player with a sunglasses photo might bluff a lot of times or just want to look like a pro and be pretty tight in the meantime. This can in principle be read quickly, which of the two.:albertein (But this is not scripture, of course, only I see it that way, but I may be wrong ;) ).
 
ADRI7HO

ADRI7HO

On the road...
Loyaler
Joined
May 6, 2020
Total posts
4,141
Awards
2
First of all, I sympathize with you mate.

I’m not familiar with such a high stakes but the money fish (One of the mate in front of me called it a whale. I didn’t know it could be called that anyway, thank you :idea: for that, I still learned something today.) Is always very good. You need a true card, add patience, but if you have it then the cashier rings. :D
 
hugh blair

hugh blair

Legend
Loyaler
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Total posts
11,172
Awards
8
Yes recent updates made by many poker sites to their engines require a half decent graphics card the faster your processor the better too.
I would go as far to say that many of the top sites become very sluggish unresponsive to clicks or even unplayable with an old computer without a graphics card and a decent processor.
 
ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
Usually any desktop or laptop made in the last 10 years will be good enough to run poker clients. As long as you have 2GB of RAM you should be fine.

If you want to run multiple clients and have them viewable on your screen at the same time, you probably need a display that is at least 1920x1080.

Are you having problems running a poker client?

Im using an 8 year old laptop running WIN 7. I have a newer Mac but this laptop works mostly fine.

It struggles a bit with Poker Stars Aurora graphics but only if I run multiple tables in which case I turn the Aurora Graphics off.

My specs are probably the minimum you will want to have.

Yes recent updates made by many poker sites to their engines require a half decent graphics card the faster your processor the better too.
I would go as far to say that many of the top sites become very sluggish unresponsive to clicks or even unplayable with an old computer without a graphics card and a decent processor.




Yes, Hugh Blair, my dear...

That's exactly what I've been feeling ...

Play a single platform, my configuration fits perfectly ...

But on the second or third ... the locks start and depending on which one is open, it simply closes ...

A PC GAMER is on my Goals / Acquisitions list
 
ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
And a detail, is that usually during the hours of PS games, I need to keep some work programs open ... which always ends up making it difficult in games ...
Because here in Rio de Janeiro, brazil it's 16h ...
 
ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
Hello friends !!!

I went through many websites, forums and talking to many friends about the ideal configuration...

I managed to arrive at my ideal configuration... so for those who are in doubt of a legal configuration to buy and assemble their PC, follow my configuration below:

Source: Corsair VS500, 500W, 80 Plus White;
Motherboard: ASUS TUF GAMING A520M (90MB17F0-M0EAY0)
RAM(4x8GB): Crucial Ballistix, 8GB, 3200MHz, DDR4 CL16 (BL8G32C16U4B)
Video Card: Duex AMD Radeon RX 550, 4GB (DXRX5504GB)
CPU: AMD Ryzen7 5700X, cache36MB, 3.4GHz(4.6GHz Max Turbo) No video (100000926WOF)
Cooler: AMD standard for this processor.
Storage:
  • SSD 250GB - NVMe - SN570 (WD Blue)
  • SSD 480GB - WD Green (x2)
  • HD 1TB WD Green

I can run everything perfectly...
And mainly playing various sites...
Running PT4, Jurojin along...


I HOPE IT HELPS !!!

AT LEAST WHO IS GOING THROUGH MY OLD PROBLEM... NOW THERE'S A LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL...
 
ScoobyEdu

ScoobyEdu

How about some fun games?
Loyaler
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Total posts
1,750
Awards
9
BR
This configuration was the best cost-benefit I could find...

And I even bought everything on a promotion I was having in a store here in Brazil... in other countries that don't have so much taxes, crazy like here... it may be possible to find it even cheaper...
 
10gerka

10gerka

Rock Star
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Total posts
447
Awards
1
as for the specifications of a pc will always depend on what you want to do on it, in my case to play poker I have a laptop corei5, with Windows 10
CPU: Intel(R) Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3230M 2.60 GHz RAM: 6.00 GB and I am doing very well.
 
EmptyHouse

EmptyHouse

Rock Star
Joined
Apr 11, 2022
Total posts
300
Awards
3
PL
I do not use support software such as HUD, so the computer does not have to be efficient at all to play at multiple tables and at several poker rooms at the same time. My computer is old, but I can easily play pokerstars and unibet on multiple tables at the same time.

CPU: Intel i5-4590 3,3 GHz
RAM: 8 GB
GPU: integrated Intel HD 4600
SSD: 256 GB
 
Top