Evaluation of two weeks of poker

F

fishinabowl

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys

I started playing online poker at micro stakes about two weeks ago. Reading a lot, evaluating sessions and hands etc...
I noticed that I keep losing money because of bad play. Only a couple of times I suffered from a bad beat, which I don't really mind.
I think I'm making it much harder than it is. If I approach a hand in a logical way, and keep focused, 9/10 I (could) leave the table with a profit of +/- 30-50% of my buy-in. Which I think are good numbers.

If I stick to these rules, I am a winning player:
- always respect your opponent, and their hand ranges, unless you know ore about them
- keep playing small ball poker (which is a bit unrealistic because these pots are so marginally low. 40c means almost nothing), while taking notes of your opponents early in your session.
- have patience, always. Fold if you know you're beat
- strike at the right time like the killer you are
- Try to take (most) pots as quickly as possible
- Vary your play, adjust to your opponents.

However, as soon as I start playing tricky, call too often, bluff at wrong spots; loose focus all together, I loose money.
For instance, sometimes I get called a river bet with K high (opponent's hand). My opponent figured I was trying to steal the pot with a value bet. In situations like these, I get extremely frustrated, and start to play like an idiot.
Or loose a big chunk of my buy-in when c-betting (2, 3 times) the wrong guy with AK after it missed the flop.
Things like these... Just bad judgement driven by emotions, usually. I never go completely tilt, but get frustrated, or even bored, rather quickly.

Bottom line, if I am disciplined and patient (the latter is key), it's almost impossible to not win.