live play rule question

AnnoDomino

AnnoDomino

Visionary
Joined
May 25, 2005
Total posts
568
Chips
0
the only live games i play are home games with friends

in live play do you have to show both of your cards at the showdown when you have been called?

online always shows both cards, but do you have to?

last night, i had Q4 in the BB

the board ended up QQ6 10 A

when called after the river, i showed my queen and said 'three queens'

my opponent showed his queen and asked what my other card was

i said my best hand was the queens, the ace and 10 and if he wanted to take the whole pot he would have to show better

he said i had been called and had to show both of my cards

it wasn't an issue, but none us really knew what the rule is


anyone know the answer to this?

anno :confused:
 
gjshand

gjshand

Rock Star
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Total posts
278
Chips
0
If you get "called" you have to show, your opponant has "paid" to see your hand.

I'm not sure on the official rule for the caller, some say he has to show when it is a show down in a tourney, some say they only need to show if it's an all-in. My personal feeling is that in a tournement you should both turn over, this excludes the possibility of collusion,
 
J

jayranger

Rising Star
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Total posts
13
Chips
0
Yeah You need to show as etict When one pays to see at the showdown.
 
Bill_Hollorian

Bill_Hollorian

Rock Star
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Total posts
400
Chips
0
Yes you must show both. The reason is not that your opponent has paid, but to confirm you do not have two A of hearts, or any other nonsense, which BTW I have seen. A guy flipped over a pair of 7's. The problem was the 7 on the board was a spade, as was the seven in his hand! Making my busted A high flush good. Although, we split the pot back to everyone, and got a new deck of cards.
 
mattisme

mattisme

Guest
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Total posts
926
Chips
0
if the other person bets and you just call they must show you their hand but it is optional for u to show
 
twizzybop

twizzybop

Legend
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Total posts
2,380
Chips
0
You have to show to prove whom has the best hand.
 
Dorkus Malorkus

Dorkus Malorkus

HELLO INTERNET
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Total posts
12,422
Chips
0
AnnoDomino said:
...when called after the river...

If you bet the river and your opponent called, you show first, then your opponent shows, or has an option to muck if he is beat. You can demand to see his cards if he does this, though it's usually regarded as bad etiquette.
 
B

BeckyFlush

Guest
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Total posts
17
Chips
0
He paid , you need to show both , cant just show half at showdown..

Cheers Becky
 
t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Joined
May 20, 2005
Total posts
6,914
Awards
1
Chips
0
Usuualy when I lose a hand to someone, I usually push my hand face down in the muck pile and say "That beats me." If the player I lost against wants to see them, I show them. My experience with the players I face against usually don't care as long as they won. Every now and then, they ask to see them and I gladly show it becuase they "paid" to see it. So, if they won the hand and they ask to see them, you show. No exceptions!
 
Organize a Home Poker Game Poker Rules - Poker Games
Top