I Need Live Poker Advice

PoKeRFoRNiA

PoKeRFoRNiA

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I've been a member since a long time ago and then the ban on online poker in the US made me play poker less. But recently, i started playing poker again. Last November, i played 3 local tournaments at Reno at GSR, $50 tournament and won 2 of them, cashing $600 and $250(my friend got 2nd and we chopped a pool consisting $500). Also won a $150 tournament seat which i just gave to my friend. So overall, I won $850 - $150 - $20 = $680

Then i went to Vegas from December to February for vacation and played at Westgate and past 4 times i went there, i played 3 tournaments (2 on saturday and 1 on sunday) per weekend vacation and kept winning 2 of 3 tournaments. $70 tournament($35 buyin, $35 add-on). 12 tournaments, i won(dunno if chopping is considered winning) roughly $400 each time. 400 x 8 = $3200. My buy ins total were $840 - $35 bcz i didnt add on one tournament, so $805 total. Of course, everytime i win, i tip the dealers/tournament director $20. So $20 x 8 = $160. So my net is $2245 for Vegas. Total, i netted $2245 + $680 = $2925.

I was surprised my poker experience and skillset i learned throughout the times at cardschat contributed a lot to my games and i am surprised i didnt lose my touch. I know I am running good but also, it seems players are terrible live.

I have a question. Do poker skills deteriorate or do they stick with u forever?

Is it wise to chop? Normally i do not like to chop but in live poker rooms, it seems like an etiquette to chop if stacks are roughly even. So i succumb to it and just chopped and since blinds were high, dunno if its wise to go all the way or just chop.