Why would you ever pre-flop-raise?

T

TheCactus

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
As you can probably see by my question, I'm new to poker. And what gets me confused a lot is preflop raising. I don't understand why people do it so much and what the point of it is. First of all, I feel like when I'm preflop raising (and I do have good cards) I'm just telling everyone at the table I have good cards. If I don't have good cards I especially don't understand why I should preflop raise, because it seems to me that the only two options that could happen are A) that I get called by someone with better cards than me or B) that everyone folds to me and I get to steal the blinds, which almost never happens without betting at least three times the big blind. Which brings me to my last question: why would you ever want to steal the blinds? I don't get it, there is usually way too little money in the pot to be worth taking a risk, and whenever there is actually some money in there it means that the entire table limped and if you pre-flop-raise you're almost certain to be called by someone.

So can please someone with a little more experience than me explain to me what the point of preflop raising is and why people do it so much? I mean there has got to be something to it that I don't get. Thanks in advance!

J

johnnygadget

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
There could be many reasons.
1.To get as many people to fold as possible. The more people that fold, the more likely your hand will win.
2.To keep people with crap hands from flopping something disastrous to you.
3.To make the pot bigger
4.To bluff