PLO Starting Hand Theory, I'm Profoundly Confused

ventrolloquist

ventrolloquist

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys, PLO noob here.

I have a bit of confusion about why JT98 is ranked in the top 10 PLO hands (better than KKxx). I would think this hand blocks itself from a straight to some extent? Since you can only use 2 cards from your hand.

Suppose you use the T and 9, the 8 and J in your own hand block your straight do they not. Am I looking at this all wrong? Why is something like AK89 or AKJT double suited not a better hand?

And more confusing still, why on earth is JT98 better than KQJT? :confused:

And then following that logic why is QJT9 not in the top 30?

Please enlighten me :D

Edit: Following the chart in The Pot Limit Omaha Book by Nguyen

Last edited:
Nikolay Nakhaev

Nikolay Nakhaev

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys, PLO noob here.

I have a bit of confusion about why JT98 is ranked in the top 10 PLO hands (better than KKxx). I would think this hand blocks itself from a straight to some extent? Since you can only use 2 cards from your hand.

Suppose you use the T and 9, the 8 and J in your own hand block your straight do they not. Am I looking at this all wrong? Why is something like AK89 double suited not a better hand?

these 2 combinations are good and outs are the same value.
but seniority is different.
Do you like more PLO or Hold'em?

ventrolloquist

ventrolloquist

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
these 2 combinations are good and outs are the same value.
but seniority is different.
Do you like more PLO or Hold'em?

Thanks for the reply.

I prefer to play NLHE. I'm just starting to dip my feet into PLO and get more into studying its theory. So I don't know yet which one I will like more :)

PHX

PHX

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
TT
Chips