Learning GTO poker : where do I begin?

F

Fida

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I really want to learn GTO poker to up my game. That said, I feel like there's so much to learn.

A member here said to me trying to learn too much at one time will do more harm than good. And that's exactly how I feel every time I read some guides about GTO poker.

So where do I begin?

R

Richardszabo

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I think you are starting to learn the basics of poker. There is no point in mastering GTO without the right level of knowledge. I say this because you will not be able to apply GTO properly.

M

MrUnlikely

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I have seen many GTO poker Apps/trainers. I am just getting started too, but I like the fact I don't need to enter ranges etc and just need to play hands with feedback. I only did it for 5 minutes but am thinking of continuing because I felt I was learning something. I want to find which one is best but have no idea. I think the important things are appearance and UI, and what data is preloaded. I think it should be similar to the game you want to play.

Obviously, you need to understand the situation so you can generalize the hand. For example, you 3-bet pre and get called by MP. Flop comes QQ7. How do you play it? I don't know, but I think you could generalize that situation to apply it to similar situations.

I don't know about setting ranges etc but that is probably important but I think you can get the basics first before thinking about how ranges, stack size etc effect play. maybe?

I think making flashcards would be a good way to study.

Poker Orifice

Poker Orifice

FoolsTilt
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
CA
Chips
Unless you're playing higher stakes &/or where players are playing GTO... it's not optimal.

M

mikeajax15

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Start from the bottom

- learning ranges from differrent positions. (RFI , 3betting , flatting etc.)