Your Three Poker Truths

Nathan Williams

Nathan Williams

Poker Pro
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
If you could go back in time to when you were first starting to learn poker what three "poker truths" would you tell yourself?

These are the top three poker strategies or knowledge that you have learned to be absolutely true from all your experience playing and learning the game now.

I will start:

1. Always trust the process and ignore your short term results.

2. Work ethic and discipline are what separate the pros from the amateurs.

3. Never think you know it all, because you don't.

FoxMS

FoxMS

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I started playing poker about 4 years ago and I had no idea how important it was to be patient. For the first two years, my poker game was like blackjack. Now I understand how, through patience, I can improve my skills and gain valuable experience.

DMAlv7

DMAlv7

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
1: Position
2: Aces
3: Read the books by BlackRain (honestly), as they helped me achieve in a week what I had been fighting for nearly 2 years.

(4): Evan Jarvis vids about tilt also helped.

(5): Start at #3.

The last 2 helped, all for different reasons but #3 seemed to explain things in a way I understood better than any I had read before..

P

PrinceJigger

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
1) Take careful notes on your opponents because you will probably run into them again.

2) Spend time away from the tables studying poker and reviewing your hands.

3) Manage your bankroll wisely and practise smart game selection.

hugh blair

hugh blair

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
1,Not losing money that you can not afford to lose is very important.
2,Fight tooth and nail for every dollar and dime every game also play freerolls and pay attention to special promotions.
3,Make that withdraw button your friend it is ok to quit behind and specially ahead.

alexand8r

alexand8r

Rock Star
Silver Level