Visualizing Poker Theory

C

cabbotage

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey, I've been lurking for a while, but this is my first post. I've been playing seriously for a little over a year and would consider myself well-read, but definitely still a beginner player.

When I'm not playing poker I'm a graphic designer specializing in infographics and for a while now I've been experimenting with applying some of that information design to all the poker theory I've been reading.

For example, Sklansky's Hand Groups are a great tool, especially for beginning players, for understanding the relative strengths of starting hands. Unfortunately, even if one memorizes the tables, I don't find that they provide a lot of insight into why certain hands are strong and what new hands are opened up as one moves down the groups. So I tried to put his tables into a format that would be more user friendly, and hopefully more revealing. Here's a link to my exploration.

Along the same lines, I wanted a better method for looking over individual games or tournaments and being able to pick out large scale patterns of play. It's true that the information can be deduced by looking at the spreadsheet output from programs like PokerTracker, but its often possible to reveal patterns with how you graphically present the information. Here's a link to exploration along those lines.

Specifically, this is a sparkline chart for a 6 handed Sit 'n Go.

The whole game was 151 hands. The lines extending upwards represent hands won. The lines extending down represent hands lost. The dashes in the middle represent "folded without betting." If a line is blue it means that I was dealt Group 4 hands or better.

I know this is kind of a long post, but it's been a project I've been working on for a while and would love to get some real-world feedback.