Is trash talk good or bad for poker?

jrutledge

jrutledge

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm relatively new to poker, and I've been watching some highlight videos back in the day of Mike Matusow and Hellmuth and people like that. I've also been watching a lot of current poker tournaments, and allllllll of the table talk is super nice. I'm sure it's better when you're at a table that people aren't being toxic. As a spectator though, I'd like to see some trash talk.

PaxMundi

PaxMundi

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
There used to be alot of good humour and banter which sometimes boiled over.I think they are trying to promote a better image these days though.Poker used to be a table full of barely dressed drunk people which wasn't a great advert for the game.Also the new players into the game do take things far more seriously than they perhaps used to.

Last edited:
Dzob

Dzob

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think that players using trash talking poker destroy his image and spoil the atmosphere at the poker table. In the online game you can meet a very sick and vulgar trash talking.

P

Pete Ski

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think it can go too far at times. When there is an abusive player in the game it is no longer fun.

L

lezghin

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
but I think that you have to watch your speech when you play poker at the table ... you have to respect the players and people around .. but sometimes emotions prevail

Zvezda kz

Zvezda kz

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
In live poker, conversations during the game help determine the overall intellectual level of the opponent’s development. That will help to choose against him the strategy of the hand of distribution.
In an online game, the conversation is simply not necessary and does not carry any information content in the game, especially when you play at a large number of tables.

mitroff

mitroff

Rock Star
Silver Level