Starting to play full-time, looking for advice

P

psiguy

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

I am looking to start playing full-time and wanted to post my circumstances and see what anyone else would suggest, or themselves do in my situation.

I have been playing for 12 years, since I was 20. I played very heavily online from 2007-2011 online, also in Atlantic City and home games live. I have played more recently in LA, Bay Area and Reno where I have been living/working. As a player, I've already gone through the growing pains: taking shots and going busto, using rent money/borrowed money and going busto. For several years I've been playing solidly.

I am getting divorced. I am in LA but not looking to stay. I'm quitting my job. This is happening regardless of poker.

I will have $25k as a bankroll to start. I will also have about $10k cash for living expenses. I also have $15k set aside which is difficult to reach but can be used to fall back on.

I don't care about money particularly, because I can easily get another job (IT/computers). I've never lived alone, literally. Went from home to marriage and have been for 10 years.

My credit is shot because I let debts go up in smoke recently as part of the divorce. I do have a high limit credit card ($25k) still open. But my score is low 500s and I got off various debts at 15%-50%. I.E. renting and anything with a credit check won't fly. I do have a lot of points available that are worth about $2k of flights.

I'm in LA so want to move to Vegas.

I want to get into playing live tournaments. I am wondering about going to cities with wsop circuit and WPT events and playing for a week in each event. I would have flights covered on points for at least 3 or 4 of these so it's low cost to me. I also haven't played too much online in recent years, and am wondering if this is worth getting back into. Since the Stars and Full Tilt golden age and collapse, my heart hasn't been in online.