Skipping the BB on PokerStars

P

ph_il

...
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Total posts
9,845
Awards
1
PokerStars Game #15593699789: Tournament #78843353, $0.10+$0.00 Hold'em No Limit - Level XVI (2000/4000) - 2008/02/27 - 17:22:40 (ET)
Table '78843353 332' 9-max Seat #1 is the button
Seat 1: 42fern (1795 in chips)
Seat 2: Kigung (56433 in chips)
Seat 3: billgray99 (9156 in chips)
Seat 4: TRM_SHRiMP (13755 in chips)
Seat 5: Renerp23 (92263 in chips)
Seat 6: holdfast17 (23270 in chips)
Seat 7: loosechain (4518 in chips)
Seat 8: mauserl1978 (25110 in chips)
Seat 9: tabu33 (10977 in chips)
42fern: posts the ante 400
Kigung: posts the ante 400
billgray99: posts the ante 400
TRM_SHRiMP: posts the ante 400
Renerp23: posts the ante 400
holdfast17: posts the ante 400
loosechain: posts the ante 400
mauserl1978: posts the ante 400
tabu33: posts the ante 400
Kigung: posts small blind 2000
billgray99: posts big blind 4000
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to TRM_SHRiMP [Jd 5s]
TRM_SHRiMP: folds -UTG
Renerp23: folds
holdfast17: folds
loosechain: folds
mauserl1978: folds
tabu33: folds
42fern: folds
Kigung: raises 8000 to 12000
billgray99: calls 4756 and is all-in
*** FLOP *** [3d 8d 2c]
*** TURN *** [3d 8d 2c] [6h]
*** RIVER *** [3d 8d 2c 6h] [Jh]
*** SHOW DOWN ***
Kigung: shows [7c 7s] (a pair of Sevens)
billgray99: shows [Qd 9s] (high card Queen)
Kigung collected 21112 from pot
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 21112 | Rake 0
Board [3d 8d 2c 6h Jh]
Seat 1: 42fern (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 2: Kigung (small blind) showed [7c 7s] and won (21112) with a pair of Sevens
Seat 3: billgray99 (big blind) showed [Qd 9s] and lost with high card Queen
Seat 4: TRM_SHRiMP folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 5: Renerp23 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 6: holdfast17 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 7: loosechain folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 8: mauserl1978 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 9: tabu33 folded before Flop (didn't bet)

The very next hand...
PokerStars Game #15593727703: Tournament #78843353, $0.10+$0.00 Hold'em No Limit - Level XVI (2000/4000) - 2008/02/27 - 17:23:54 (ET)
Table '78843353 332' 9-max Seat #2 is the button
Seat 1: 42fern (1395 in chips)
Seat 2: Kigung (68389 in chips)
Seat 4: TRM_SHRiMP (13355 in chips)
Seat 5: Renerp23 (91863 in chips)
Seat 6: holdfast17 (22870 in chips)
Seat 7: loosechain (4118 in chips)
Seat 8: mauserl1978 (24710 in chips)
Seat 9: tabu33 (10577 in chips)
42fern: posts the ante 400
Kigung: posts the ante 400
TRM_SHRiMP: posts the ante 400
Renerp23: posts the ante 400
holdfast17: posts the ante 400
loosechain: posts the ante 400
mauserl1978: posts the ante 400
tabu33: posts the ante 400
TRM_SHRiMP: posts small blind 2000
Renerp23: posts big blind 4000
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to TRM_SHRiMP [Qc Ts]
sl.boninja is connected
holdfast17: folds
loosechain: folds
mauserl1978: calls 4000
tabu33: folds
42fern: folds
Kigung: folds
TRM_SHRiMP: raises 8955 to 12955 and is all-in
Renerp23: folds
mauserl1978: calls 8955
*** FLOP *** [Jc 9h 9d]
*** TURN *** [Jc 9h 9d] [2d]
*** RIVER *** [Jc 9h 9d 2d] [8c]
*** SHOW DOWN ***
TRM_SHRiMP: shows [Qc Ts] (a straight, Eight to Queen)
mauserl1978: shows [Ah Jh] (two pair, Jacks and Nines)
TRM_SHRiMP collected 33110 from pot
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 33110 | Rake 0
Board [Jc 9h 9d 2d 8c]
Seat 1: 42fern folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 2: Kigung (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 4: TRM_SHRiMP (small blind) showed [Qc Ts] and won (33110) with a straight, Eight to Queen
Seat 5: Renerp23 (big blind) folded before Flop
Seat 6: holdfast17 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 7: loosechain folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 8: mauserl1978 showed [Ah Jh] and lost with two pair, Jacks and Nines
Seat 9: tabu33 folded before Flop (didn't bet)

So, am I missing something here or what? Shouldn't I have been a single BB? Im not complaining or anything, but I think this is the first time I've seen this happen.
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
I always thought it should be a dead small and you should be the only big, yes. Did you email pokerstars and ask about this?
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Ah, their web site has the answer:

http://www.pokerstars.com/poker/tournaments/rules/ said:
6. PokerStars uses a "forward moving button" rule in its tournaments. According to this rule, no player ever receives the button twice in a row; at the completion of every hand, the button is moved clockwise to the small blind. The implication of this rule is that when players are eliminated, there may be players who get a reprieve from one or both blinds. The forward moving button is common practice in online poker due to the technicalities involved in adjusting the blinds after players are eliminated. Since these are basically random occurrences, no player will receive any long-term advantage, and the rule is necessarily fair for all players.
 
smd173

smd173

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Apr 10, 2005
Total posts
1,520
Yeah, I once got a reprieve from both blinds, and it was later in a tourney and I was shortstacked. So it was a big help that time.
 
P

ph_il

...
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Total posts
9,845
Awards
1
Oh, I see.
Thanks for clearing this up, Zac.
 
aliengenius

aliengenius

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Total posts
4,596
OMG that is sooo wrong. Spend some money on the programing for goodness sake. Getting the button twice in a row is hardly a bigger advantage than getting to skip blinds, especially when they are high relative to your stack size. Does Stars eliminate sitouts in a tournament? Because effectively this gives some "the button" (last to act) twice every single round.
 
KingCurtis

KingCurtis

Legend
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Total posts
9,945
Awards
1
i think getting the blind twice is just part of the luck factor in poker....if that person gets knocked out and you get it againd ....it was lucky it happened that way............do you think Pokerstars benefits in cash gaqmes , rake wise, by using this system?......maybe thats why..i cant think of how though......
 
aliengenius

aliengenius

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Total posts
4,596
i think getting the blind twice is just part of the luck factor in poker....if that person gets knocked out and you get it againd ....it was lucky it happened that way............do you think Pokerstars benefits in cash gaqmes , rake wise, by using this system?......maybe thats why..i cant think of how though......

There are NO situations where someone has to get the blind twice. Ever.
 
KingCurtis

KingCurtis

Legend
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Total posts
9,945
Awards
1
oh i guess i miss read...woops

ignore my post above then......lol

but my second statement may be something though...
 
WVHillbilly

WVHillbilly

Legend
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Total posts
22,973
I hate the moving button rule. Dead button is the way to go because no player should get to skip their blinds based on someone else getting knocked out.
 
vanquish

vanquish

Legend
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Total posts
12,000
getting your BB skipped is the best gift you can get. i'm gonna get it for this girl for her birthday
 
Last edited:
PokerStars Reviews: Français, Nederlands, Deutsch, Dansk, Italiano, Español, Polski, Norsk, Português, Svenska - PokerStars Mobile - Deutsch Mobile - PS Casino
Top