SIT n' GOs or Ring Games?

Paw_kit Aces

Paw_kit Aces

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
What is best way to build my bank roll through Cash games or SNGs?

When I first started playing online I played mostly limit holdem cash games, with mixed results, I generally made a little bit of money, but eventually I would loose most or all of it due to bad beats, because at the micro stakes tables there is always 2 or 3 calling stations that play anything to the river. I eventually moved up the higher stakes tables hoping to get away from the calling stations, which seemed to work a little, but my BR wasn’t big enough to play at the higher stakes tables and I eventually lost my BR.

After reading the article about Chris Ferguson’s zero to $10,000 adventure, I decided to play with-in my BR and never (hopefully) make another deposit again, so I started playing a lot of sngs because you can buy-in for only a $1.20 and I don't have to worry about loosing my entire BR because of a few bad beats. What I discovered was my BR has been steadily increasing, because the sngs are much easer (or so it seems) to play. In fact, over the past 2 days I have played 15 sngs and placed 1st in 5 of them and 2nd and 3rd in 3 of them, which is ITM 73% of the time. I guess I should have been playing the sngs all a long.

For those that play sngs on a regular basis what is your win rate for the micro tables ($1.20 or similar)? Is 73% just a lucky streak or is this typical once you learn how to play against a table full of players who seem to have absolutely no clue about holdem strategy? Also can one make a living playing SNGs only? What level would one have to play to make a descent living? How may games a day?

S93

S93

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips