This is a discussion on Showing cards on the river - oops within the online poker forums, in the General Poker section; So, I was playing a game for cash (friendly stakes) and the following scenario occurred....
7 players. 3 played a hand to the river. Large pot
So, I was playing a game for cash (friendly stakes) and the following scenario occurred....
7 players. 3 played a hand to the river. Large pot to be had.
Player A checks
Player B goes all-in
Player C calls and also goes all-in (having a and b covered)
Player C mistakenly thinks player A has folded turns his cards and has A high straight. Highest possible hand.
But Player A still has a chance to call/fold.
no one round the table is disadvantaged by the show, but A is advantaged by avoiding the call and loosing the hand.
No collusion. C definitely wants to take maximum pot and knock out A and B.
Player A knows he's beaten calls for a redeal.
Consensus was to start the hand from scratch. redeal.
No this is not fair. C-player made a mistake and showed his hand. (This in itself is not uncommon at some casino cash games. Players are allowed to expose their hand to get a read on others). Only thing you did was allow A-player to fold with losing more money. Your mistake = own it. Declaring a miss deal after the river is just stupid. Get a copy of basic rules. Or adopt some type of house rules to avoid this in the future.